It's even worse than it appears..
Saturday July 6, 2024; 11:39 AM EDT
  • In this podcast I tell the story of the move from print to the web in 1994 when the San Francisco newspapers went on strike. I was part of that process, a step in the bootstrap that led to the social web. #
  • I'm thinking about that process as journalism system is losing its mind, like everything else, and we need to find a way to flow intelligent news to people who need it, so we can start to organize, and we need to do it now. #
  • The flow are out there, smart people who know stuff and have ideas, but they aren't getting heard amidst the mindlessness of the NYT, CNN, MSNBC et al. #
  • It's a long story, and it starts off crisp like most of my stories and then rambles out. #
  • 16 minutes.#

© copyright 1994-2024 Dave Winer.

Last update: Saturday July 6, 2024; 4:41 PM EDT.

You know those obnoxious sites that pop up dialogs when they think you're about to leave, asking you to subscribe to their email newsletter? Well that won't do for Scripting News readers who are a discerning lot, very loyal, but that wouldn't last long if I did rude stuff like that. So here I am at the bottom of the page quietly encouraging you to sign up for the nightly email. It's got everything from the previous day on Scripting, plus the contents of the linkblog and who knows what else we'll get in there. People really love it. I wish I had done it sooner. And every email has an unsub link so if you want to get out, you can, easily -- no questions asked, and no follow-ups. Go ahead and do it, you won't be sorry! :-)