High school students invent new toothbrush for those with Parkinson’s disease

Published: Mar. 27, 2024 at 5:56 PM EDT

FLORENCE, Ky. (WCPO) – Some Kentucky high school students have put a new spin on an old product.

They’ve designed a new toothbrush to help people with unsteady hands, like those with Parkinson’s disease.

Patty Schneider, a resident at Magnolia Springs in Florence, was diagnosed with Parkinson’s, making even simple activities, like writing birthday cards for her nieces and nephews, much more difficult due to her tremors.

“I do have tremors occasionally,” she said. “And the reason I’m on the walker now is my balance is getting a little iffy.”

Even something as simple as brushing your teeth is not as easy with the condition.

Schneider said she doesn’t shake much, but her conditions could always get worse.

It can be difficult for younger people to understand what it means to get old or suffer from Parkinson’s. However, four high school students took it as a challenge.

For student Reagan Farkas, the matter is personal.

“Because I have a lot of unsteadiness with my hands, simple things like missing my mouth when I’m eating, or something like with a fork or hitting my gums when I’m brushing my teeth,” she said.

Farkas came up with the idea of a toothbrush holder with a handler strap.

With a little help from 101-year-old Dwight Harris, Farks and the other students developed a prototype device older residents at Magnolia Springs are testing.

“The idea was to make it so you can’t lose it, you can’t drop it, easy to grasp , easy to control,” Harris said.

Schneider said the invention is remarkable.

“It was an amazing experience,” she said. “I’m very impressed with the girls.”

The students do not know what’s next for their project, but the people at Magnolia Springs hope it can help people outside of their community too.