‘I just kept praying’: Man survives tree crashing through home during Hurricane Beryl

A man survived after a tree crashed into his home in Houston when Hurricane Beryl hit on Monday. (Source: KTRK)
Published: Jul. 9, 2024 at 8:40 PM CDT

HOUSTON (KTRK) - A man in Houston says he is lucky to be alive after a tree came crashing through his house on Monday when Hurricane Beryl struck the area.

Jordan Nichols said he was asleep when the tree fell, and the ceiling caved in on top of him.

“I remember I just kept praying the whole time and trying to count to 30 as many times as possible and praying in between,” he said.

Moments later, Nichols heard his roommate screaming for help.

“I was like, I know God doesn’t do things by mistake. And I was like, there’s no way that I’m going to still be under this alive and nobody can come and help,” he said.

Firefighters were able to rescue both of them.

“It’s just unreal. I’ve been shaking all day. It just doesn’t even feel real,” Nichols said.

He suffered minor injuries, but Nichols admits he is fortunate.

The storm is blamed for at least 10 deaths in Texas and Louisiana.