Fireworks can spook pets, here’s how to protect them from holiday dangers

Dogs are more sensitive to loud noises.
Danielle Ledbetter reports on how to keep your pets safe during fireworks.
Published: Jul. 2, 2024 at 7:14 PM CDT

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (WSMV) - Like most pet owners, Megan Firth’s dog isn’t just her pet.

”I consider her a part of my family like I consider her my child... I want to make sure that she is safe and I know that her ears are really sensitive.”

Metro Animal Care and Control says dogs can hear better than humans, making them more sensitive to fireworks.

”I’m just planning on keeping her inside at night and not taking her outside at night during the fireworks show,” Firth said.

MACC says the place for your pets is inside.

While the fireworks are going off, Melissa Moore, another dog owner, shares what she plans to do, “Maybe try to drown out the noise a little bit. I don’t know if I’ll take him directly under any fireworks but maybe from my rooftop or from my apartment just drown out the noise but maybe he can still watch.”

For Firth, she says food is always a good distraction, “I got her peanut butter and it kind of just distracted her and I tried to cover her ears with my hands but she didn’t like it but I just try to distract her as much as possible.”

MACC says the sound of fireworks can send your pets running so secure your fence and close all gates.

”Make sure there’s a tag on the collar it can be just as simple as this it’s just a piece of tape but put your phone number on it,” Ashley Harrington with MACC said.

So, in the event they do run off, there’s a higher chance you’ll be reunited with your pet.

”Dogs are family right? You want to keep them safe just as you would your kids,” Harrington said.