Titans rookie Jarvis Brownlee Jr. perseveres after being hit in drive-by shooting as child

Tennessee first-year cornerback shares reason for embracing adversity in pursuing spot on Titans’ roster
On the last day of the Tennessee Titans’ offseason program, a bulk of rookies spoke to the media after practice.
Published: Jun. 11, 2024 at 11:23 PM CDT

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (WSMV) - On the last day of the Tennessee Titans’ offseason program, a bulk of rookies spoke to the media after practice.

Tennessee’s 2024 fifth-round draft pick, cornerback Jarvis Brownlee Jr., was candid in sharing why he approaches earning a roster spot with such optimism and motivation.

“Since I was young, I’ve been through a lot,” Brownlee Jr. reflected. “Starting with me getting grazed, getting shot in the third grade, I think it just all plays a part, and it all played a part in my career as well.”

Brownlee Jr. shared he was hit by a bullet while riding in a car on his way to get food from Burger King, just in the third grade.

As he pursued his dream of playing football, he started his career at what he calls his dream school, Florida State. After three seasons playing for the Seminoles, he transferred to Louisville. Dealing with injuries along the way, Brownlee Jr. never waivered in his pursuit of making it to the NFL, because he has been through worse.

“I think I just have that mindset to where, when adversity hits, embrace it,” Brownlee Jr. said. “Just always keep working and never give up. Things happen. Everybody’s not perfect. We all make mistakes, but it’s all about how can you correct them and how you go about that next day and go about that next thing, so for me, it’s just about keeping a short-term memory and just being the best version of me.”

In his final collegiate season with Louisville, Brownlee Jr. recorded 30 tackles, six pass breakups, and an interception, despite missing some games due to a foot injury. He said he draws his drive from what he made it through as a young child, that’s helped shape who he is today.

“I think I was traumatized for a little,” Brownlee Jr. said. “I was young, so it was something that I never talked about, but for me I think it changed my mindset on life and what I wanted to do with it, and ever since then, that’s when I started believing in God and I just always had this vision to what I wanted to do in my life, and that was to make it to the NFL.”

Brownlee Jr. and the Titans will resume practicing when training camp begins in late July.