Walsh sisters eye Olympics with U.S. Swim Trials coming up

Alex and Gretchen Walsh roll in NCAA Championships, build momentum for Trials
Updated: May. 30, 2024 at 7:00 PM CDT

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (WSMV) - The Walsh sisters head to the U.S. Olympic Swim Trials with big, yet achievable hopes.

After tearing through the NCAA Championships (Alex won or helped win titles in six events for the University of Virginia, while Gretchen did the same in seven), the duo has their sights set on representing their country.

“We both feel really confident that we can, if we do what we’ve been training to do the past three years, we both have really good shots of making the Olympic team,” said Alex, a recent UVA graduate.

That’s the goal.

To make it together.

They missed doing that 2021, when Alex earned a spot on the U.S. team and Gretchen didn’t.

Alex won a silver medal in the 200IM at the Tokyo Games as Gretchen watched from home with her family.

“I had my shot, I missed it and that was OK,” said Gretchen.

“I was looking forward to starting a new chapter at UVA the following month, so it would’ve been awesome to compete at the Olympics obviously, but I really did take a step away from swimming and I think I needed that.”

Since then, the 21-year-old has blazed to the front of the pack. This past March, she broke four NCAA records as she helped Virginia to its fourth straight team title.

Meanwhile, in her four years in college, Alex has helped win 19 total NCAA individual and relay championships.

“Coming off of the NCAA season where both of us had a lot of success in the short course pool, that was a really good indication that we are gonna swim well at trials,” said Alex.

But, they’re going to have to tweak their technique because the size of the pool will change from what they’ve been competing in, to what they’re about to face.

The NCAA uses 25 yard pools. International swimming is all 50 meter pools.

“My race strategy changes so much when I am training for something like the Olympics Trials where it is going to be a 50 meter pool. I do the 50 Free, and now I don’t have any flip turns. So now it’s just one length, instead of NCAAs where I get the wall in between and I’m basically only actually swimming for like maybe 20 yards. It’s definitely a different competitive landscape,” said Gretchen.

But, it’s one in which both girls believe they can succeed.

And for the first time ever, they’ll have a chance to do it in an NFL venue.

To pack more fans in the stands, Lucas Oil Stadium is hosting this year’s U.S. Swim Trials.

And the pool is going in on top of the field where the Indianapolis Colts play.

“It’ll definitely be a lot of energy, but I’m excited,” said Alex.

“We’ve talked about this a lot, I think it’s really cool that swimming is becoming bigger and more people want to come watch this event. They want to watch swimmers come try and make the Olympic team to represent the U.S.”

And two of those swimmers hope to be from the same household.

“I want it really bad,” said Gretchen.

“I think I’ve been making a lot of sacrifices recently, more so than I ever would. I want it and I’m doing things in order for it to happen. And I’m prioritizing it above everything else.”

Alex agrees.

“Hopefully, this summer the best part about Trials will be Gretchen and I getting to achieve this dream together.”

Alex will swim in the 100m breaststroke, the 200m breaststroke and the 200IM.

Gretchen will compete in the 100m butterfly, the 100m freestyle and the 50m freestyle.

The U.S. Olympic Swim Trials run from June 15-23.