‘Attacked. Death threats. Sexualized;’ Angel Reese describes struggles amid Elite Eight exit

LSU forward Angel Reese (10) reacts during the fourth quarter of an Elite Eight round college...
LSU forward Angel Reese (10) reacts during the fourth quarter of an Elite Eight round college basketball game against Iowa during the NCAA Tournament, Monday, April 1, 2024, in Albany, N.Y. (AP Photo/Mary Altaffer)(Mary Altaffer | AP)
Published: Apr. 2, 2024 at 10:38 AM CDT

ALBANY, N.Y. (WVUE) - Following the LSU’s 94-87 defeat against Iowa in the Elite Eight of the NCAA women’s basketball tournament, star player Angel Reese opened up about the challenges she has faced over the past year.

A tearful Reese shared her experiences of being attacked and receiving death threats since winning the NCAA title in 2023.

“I’ve been through so much. I’ve seen so much. I’ve been attacked so many times. Death threats. I’ve been sexualized. I’ve been threatened,” she said. “I’ve been so many things and I’ve stood strong every single time. I just try to stand strong for my teammates because I don’t want them to see me down and not be there for them … I’m still a human.”

Reese said she hasn’t had peace since capturing the school’s first women’s basketball championship in program history. During that game, Reese made headlines for her on-court rivalry with Iowa’s Caitlin Clark. With images of the Bayou Barbie pointing to her ring finger and making a “you can’t see me” gesture becoming synonymous with the achievement.

“I don’t really get to stand up for myself. I have great teammates. I have a great support system. I’ve got my hometown. I’ve got my family that stands up for me.

“I don’t really get to speak out on things just because I try to ignore and I just try to stand strong. I would still sit here and say, ‘I’m unapologetically me.’ I’m going to always leave that mark and be who I am and stand on that.

“The little girls that look up to me, hopefully, I give them some type of inspiration … Keep being who you are.”

FILE -LSU's Angel Reese reacts in front of Iowa's Caitlin Clark during the second half of the...
FILE -LSU's Angel Reese reacts in front of Iowa's Caitlin Clark during the second half of the NCAA Women's Final Four championship basketball game April 2, 2023, in Dallas. Iowa and LSU are getting ready to meet again in a rematch of the 2023 national championship game on Monday, April 1, 2024. (AP Photo/Tony Gutierrez, File)(Tony Gutierrez | AP)

RELATED STORIES

This year, Reese and Clark hugged and showed their respect for one another after the Hawkeyes victory.

“She just told me, ‘Continue to be a great player,’” Reese said. “And I told her, ‘Continue to be a great player, as well, and keep elevating the game and go win it.’”

It’s unclear whether Reese will return to LSU or declare for this month’s WNBA draft. She is projected to be a first-round pick.

Reese’s teammates rallied around her, praising her strength and character amidst media scrutiny.

“Everybody can have their opinion on Angel Reese, but y’all don’t know her,” said Flau’jae Johnson. “Y’all don’t know Angel Reese. I know Angel Reese.”

“I know the real Angel Reese, and the person I see every day is a strong person, is a caring and loving person … Just to see how the media ridicule her – we went through our problems, but this is my sister right here.”

See a spelling or grammar error in our story? Click Here to report it. Please include the headline.

Subscribe to the Fox 8 YouTube channel.