self

Bella Hadid Regrets Her Nose Job

Photo: LOIC VENANCE/AFP via Getty Images

Bella Hadid is the latest celebrity to talk openly about getting cosmetic surgery. In a new interview with Vogue, Hadid said she got a nose job when she was 14 and regrets it. “I wish I had kept the nose of my ancestors,” she said. “I think I would have grown into it.” She denied having any other procedures done, crediting her gravity-defying features to face tape, which she calls “the oldest trick in the book.”

Hadid also got candid about her struggles with mental health, including an eating disorder that she developed as a teen. Recalling using a calorie-counting app and trying to “feel in control of myself when I felt so out of control of everything else,” she told Vogue, “I can barely look in the mirror to this day because of that period in my life.”

Hadid said the fashion industry’s de facto don’t-ask, don’t-tell policy about mental health compounded the depression and anxiety she had suffered from throughout her teens and adult life. Hadid has been discussing her battles with “extreme depression and anxiety” for a while now, recently telling InStyle that she suffers from “crippling anxiety” that is sometimes so severe she can’t leave the house. Speaking with Vogue, she recalled three years in her career in which she would cry constantly when she wasn’t on a runway or doing a photo shoot. “I would wake up every morning hysterical, in tears, alone,” she said, and she remembers hiding during her lunch break and crying. “I didn’t show anyone that,” she said. “Over the years I became a good actress.” She says her mental health has improved over the past year, a change she credits to therapy and Wellbutrin.

Bella Hadid Regrets Her Nose Job