Skip to content

High School Sports |
All-Inland Girls Track and Field: Vista Murrieta’s Alyssa Alumbres is the IE Varsity Athlete of the Year

Read more about Alumbres' season, see who was chosen the Inland coach of the year and which athlete were selected to the all-area teams.

Vista Murrieta’s Alyssa Alumbres has been selected the IE Varsity Girls Track and Field Athlete of the Year. Alumbres won a CIF State title in the triple jump and also placed second in the long jump. ((Photo by Anjali Sharif-Paul, The Sun/SCNG)
Vista Murrieta’s Alyssa Alumbres has been selected the IE Varsity Girls Track and Field Athlete of the Year. Alumbres won a CIF State title in the triple jump and also placed second in the long jump. ((Photo by Anjali Sharif-Paul, The Sun/SCNG)
AuthorORG XMIT: fotogod@hotmail.com staffmug06tlpa.jpg
(5-5-2008, Metro, Corona)
PE sports writer Eric-Paul Johnson Monday in Riverside, Calif., May 5, 2008.    (The Press-Enterprise/Terry Pierson)
UPDATED:

The fulfillment of Alyssa Alumbres’ time as a Vista Murrieta High School student came at the end of May when she participated in the graduation ceremony. It was a signature moment for sure, but it actually culminated a busy week of life achievements for the 18-year-old.

Days earlier, Alumbres’ first monumental celebration came when she stepped onto the awards podium in Buchanan High School’s Veterans Memorial Stadium in Clovis. There, she was awarded a first-place medal for her performance in the triple jump at the CIF State Track and Field Championships. Making her third straight state meet appearance, she had never finished higher than fifth in either triple or long jump.

That changed in one day, hours apart. Not only did she win her first state individual title, but Alumbres’ jump of 40 feet and 11 inches broke Michelle Norman’s 2014 school record by five inches.

“I couldn’t end it in a better way,” says Alumbres, who is the IE Varsity Girls Track and Field Athlete of the Year. “It was in the back of my mind, and it was a definite goal, but to actually do it at state, when it mattered most? It’s amazing. I think what I pictured it to be, winning a state title and then getting the school record, everything lived up to the hype I had in my head.”

The victory came after she finished second in the long jump at 19-5 1/2. Her personal long jump best this season, 19-7 1/2, came in March.

Reaction to her runner-up finish in the long jump was something to monitor. Alumbres, who has been a long jumper since age 7, had not considered triple jump as her favorite. Her first-ever attempts came in her freshman year. A 39-6 for third place in the 2022 CIF Southern Section Division 1 final was still Alumbres’ best triple jump mark until this past April’s Arcadia Invitational.

“I was seeded first in the long jump and I did so badly,” said Alumbres about her Arcadia performance. “I didn’t even make it to the second round of jumps in the finals. I only jumped 17-10 1/4. I was really disappointed. I went to the team tent and cried. I knew it wasn’t my best performance at all. I realized I still had the triple to do.

“I talked with my coach. He told me I had unfinished business, that the triple was still there, and I needed to focus. At that time, I still really didn’t prefer triple over long, but then I thought, ‘this is another opportunity to compete and do my best.’”

She jumped 39-9 3/4. She won the competition by five inches and a massive personal best.

“I definitely had a better mindset after that,” she said. “I saw what it did for me, focusing on my jump and executing the little things. I remembered that feeling for the rest of the season.”

Alumbres won the Inland Empire Championships triple jump at 40-2 1/4, she swept the Southwestern League long and triple jump titles, blazed through the CIF-SS meets, including a 40-4 at the Masters Meet to reach the state meet. But a 40-11 to win the state title?

Her reaction to the jump said it all.

“After I jumped, I knew it was pretty big,” she recalls. “I was with my teammate sitting behind the girl who entered the marks. When she typed in the mark, on video, you can see my initial reaction to it. My jaw dropped, my hands were covering my mouth and I looked up at my family and coach immediately. They were all cheering. For them to see the mark at the same time as me is what I’ll remember most.”

Alumbres will attend San Diego State University in the fall where she’ll study psychology and compete for the Aztecs’ track and field program. It’ll be a new pathway toward Alumbres’ next life achievements. At least now she’s got some experience of knowing what it takes.

“This year I knew it was my last chance to do something special, to leave a mark on Vista’s history,” Alumbres said. “I learned more about myself than any other year. It was a big milestone. Recognizing my potential here gives me more confidence and that’s good as I prepare to go to college.”

— RYAN T. BLYSTONE

IE VARSITY COACH OF THE YEAR

Coley Candaele, Vista Murrieta

Vista Murrieta tallied 50 points and finished third at the CIF Southern Section’s Division 1 championship meet for the second consecutive year. The Broncos had 14 individual athletes and two relay teams qualify for the Division 1 section meet this season. Vista Murrieta also scored 23 points at the CIF State Championships for another third-place finish. Alyssa Alumbres won the state championship in the girls triple jump, becoming the school’s first girls track and field athlete to win a state title. Vista Murrieta won all of its Southwestern League dual meets by at least 59 points and scored 214 points at the league finals, more than twice as many points as the second-place team. The Broncos won 10 of the 16 championships at the Southwestern League finals.

— ERIC-PAUL JOHNSON

IE VARSITY FIRST TEAM

Alyssa Alumbres, Vista Murrieta, Sr. (Athlete of the Year)

Makena Bailey, Chino Hills, Sr.

Kaylee Best, Norco, Jr.

Rylee Blade, Santiago, Jr.

Braelyn Combe, Santiago, So.

Megan Crum, Temescal Canyon, Jr.

L’Mio Edwards, Claremont, Sr.

Aspen Fears, Vista Murrieta, Sr.

Kylani Gaines, Riverside Poly, So.

AB Hernandez, Jurupa Valley, So.

Sofia Lieberman, Murrieta Valley, Sr.

Kayla McBride, Ayala, Sr.

Andreese Ortiz, Heritage, Sr.

Alaya Robinson, Etiwanda, Sr.

Mikensi Smith, Yucaipa, Sr.

Jaylen Spencer, Vista Murrieta, Sr.

Su’Riah Williams, Redlands, Jr.

Keelan Wright, Chaparral, Jr.

IE VARSITY SECOND TEAM

Rachel Aguilar, Ontario Christian, Sr.

Taylor Anyansi, Murrieta Valley, Jr.

Arielle Avina, Murrieta Valley, So.

Samarra Blake, Vista Murrieta, Sr.

Isla Bulmer, Claremont, So.

Michal Coates, Great Oak, Jr.

Obioma Emechete, Ayala, Jr.

Andrea Espinoza Noriega, Temescal Canyon, Sr.

Allie Goetz, Murrieta Valley, Sr.

Ndiah Hall, Rancho Cucamonga, Jr.

Saje Heard, Rancho Cucamonga, Jr.

Erika Kirk, Vista Murrieta, Jr.

Jordin Lieberman, Murrieta Valley, Jr.

Brianna Ponder, North, Sr.

Victoria Redd, Temescal Canyon, Sr.

Elena Rossen, Chino, Sr.

Amara Thomas, Valley View, Sr.

Skye Williams, Upland, Jr.

Originally Published: