On a recent morning my wife, Marcia, said something while we were still in bed that irritated me and prompted a bit of a sulky response on my part. I then proceeded to get out of bed to begin my daily ablutions, muttering grumpily as I walked down the hall to the bathroom.

Marcia reads in bed until about 7 a.m. So, I shaved, flossed, brushed my teeth and took a shower. By the time she showed up, I had totally forgotten whatever it was that irritated me. I greeted her with a cheerful “hello” and a smooch, and happily left the bathroom and proceeded to get dressed.

So, getting old does have some significant advantages. It is definitely better for your peace of mind – and your health – not to hold onto grudges. And you cannot hold onto grudges if you don’t remember them. Something for all the youngsters out there to look forward to.

Bill Matthews
Kennebunkport

Related Headlines

Join the Conversation

Please sign into your Press Herald account to participate in conversations below. If you do not have an account, you can register or subscribe. Questions? Please see our FAQs.

filed under: