Hughes

Jessica Hughes has been on the job as the city clerk of South Portland since mid-May, when she was selected over four other candidate finalists to succeed Emily Scully, who served in the position for eight years.

Hughes has been a private sector analyst for a Maine law firm and has worked in higher education at the University of New England. She has a Master of Education, Administration of Higher Education degree from Suffolk University and an undergraduate degree in communication technology from Sacred Heart University. She has enrolled in the New Clerks Workshop sponsored by the Maine Town and City Clerks’ Association.

The Sentry posed some questions to Hughes to get to know her and and to see how her first weeks on the job have been going.

Q. Where are you from?
A. I’m originally from Rhode Island, but have always lived in New England. The first time I visited Maine was to present at a conference. I fell in love with the area and relocated here a year later.

Q. What inspired you to pursue the role of South Portland city clerk?
A. Recently, I met a town clerk who shared how the clerk serves as the hub for the community and connects residents to their government. They shared how the local and seasonal residents of the town relied on the office to help with every aspect of life in rural Maine. The role seemed to capture what I have always loved in my previous work – supporting a community. When I saw that South Portland, a city that I love, was seeking a clerk, I felt this is exactly where I am meant to be.

Q. What past experiences will you draw upon in your new job?
A. My prior experiences in research, education and service stand out the most. They honed the skill sets I will draw upon in my new role.

Advertisement

Q. What’s been the most challenging part of the job so far?
A. To be honest, the learning curve is steep in these first weeks and months. Being new to the position, I am striving to strike a balance between planning and looking ahead and studying South Portland’s rich history. Both are equally important for me to serve and lead effectively.

Q. What has been your favorite part of the job so far?
A. Getting to know everyone, from colleagues to the wonderful community members that attend City Council, volunteer on boards and committees, or serve during elections. I believe that is the best part of the job – getting to know everyone across the city.

Q. What do you like to do in your free time?
A. My free time is often spent outdoors. I love adventuring around Maine because there are so many hidden spots, many of which I have found while kayaking, hiking or snowmobiling. I also love planning and taking road trips.

Q. What is your dream vacation destination?
A. This is a good question! If I had to choose today, it would be amazing to explore northern and western Europe. I have never been there before and I enjoy traveling to historical places.

Q. Who are some of your favorite musical artists?
A. My music preferences vary, as you can tell by this sampling of artists: Toby Keith, Green Day, Elton John, Brad Paisley, Billy Joel, Diecast and Ghost of Paul Revere.

Q. What are some of your favorite TV shows/movies?
A. My favorite TV show is “Friends.” It always makes me laugh and usually captures circumstances in life I have faced. Movies are harder to choose. However, I definitely prefer to watch movie series, so that I can see characters grow and develop over time. Some examples are “Die Hard,” “Back to the Future,” “Harry Potter” and “Pitch Perfect.”

Join the Conversation

Please sign into your Press Herald account to participate in conversations below. If you do not have an account, you can register or subscribe. Questions? Please see our FAQs.