Ryan Deluca and his fiancé, Joseph. | Courtesy of Ryan Deluca

Ryan Deluca is a happy man. The gay former Division 1 college football player, who came out publicly while at Furman University, posted on social media this week a beautiful celebration of his engagement to his boyfriend and now-fiancé, Joseph.

Last week, his boyfriend Jospeh posted on Instagram about the happy moment when the two men became engaged to marry during a somewhat replication of their first date. Deluca shared the post.

“I got down on one knee and asked Ryan to marry me,” Joseph wrote, “one thousand four hundred and ninety nine days later, in the same exact spot from that first date night.”

Deluca played college football at Furman University in South Carolina. He came out to his teammates, and then publicly, in 2021 and found support from his team.

“I’ve been wanting to come out for a while now,” he wrote at the time. “I think I’m finally ready and I’m proud of it. I want to thank everyone who knows and has supported me to this point, you all mean a lot to me. Thank you to the one that makes me smile.”

He thanked everyone who supported his coming out in an Instagram post.

We are thrilled to see these guys find true love and engage in marriage. We wish only the best for them as they continue their lives together.

You can follow Ryan Deluca on Instagram.