Skip to content
UPDATED:

We asked readers, Should president, staff wear masks?

Will only wear mask if a business requires it

I agree to wear a mask in any business that requires one for entrance. I do not wear one when walking around my neighborhood by myself, with way more than 6 feet social distancing, when just stepping outside my house to water my plants or wash my car, picking up my newspaper or working in my yard.

The air is not bad; it is not radioactive last time I looked. Personally, I cannot stand wearing the things. They are hot, stuffy, difficult to breathe in and I do not like breathing back in my exhaled air instead of inhaling oxygenated air.

I stay away from any crowded areas, including the big-box stores, and when grocery shopping I purposely avoid the crowded areas/aisles and continue circling until areas are not crowded.

Candace Starkey, San Clemente

They should wear masks

Of course the president and all staff should wear masks. The president if for no other reason but to set an example to all in the United States. None of us enjoy wearing masks but have been told it is to protect others as well as ourselves.

I am 81 and learned at a very young age that life is about the entire community, not just myself. Younger people today seem to feel they are entitled to what they want whenever they want it.

When the president does what ever he wants whenever he wants it he is setting an example that young people seem to follow.

Barbara Klein, Long Beach

Leading by example

Yes, if President Donald Trump, Vice President Mike Pence and staff would wear masks it would set a positive leadership example and decrease the potential spread of infection.

While it may be understandable as to why the president and some other high officials may not want to wear masks, as they can be quite uncomfortable and even fog glasses, but the need for self-protection and for the protection of others should outweigh any personal discomfort.

At first, I did not wear a mask maybe due to a false sense of invincibility, but quickly, realized the foolishness of such thoughts, and wearing a mask has now become a necessary part of my attire, reflecting both self-protection and caring about others.

— Isadora Johnson, Seal Beach

Originally Published: