Skip to content
Author
UPDATED:

All Rachel Zegler had to do to score an Oscars invite was shame the Academy.

The “West Side Story” star caused a fuss last week when she revealed that she hadn’t been invited to Sunday’s show, despite her lead role in the Steven Spielberg remake.

Jacob Elordi and Rachel Zegler speak onstage at the Oscars Sunday.
Jacob Elordi and Rachel Zegler speak onstage at the Oscars Sunday.

“Idk y’all, I have tried it all, but it doesn’t seem to be happening,” the 20-year-old New Jersey native commented back to a fan on Instagram.

“I will root for ‘West Side Story’ from my couch and be proud of the work we so tirelessly did three years ago. I hope some last minute miracle occurs and I can celebrate our film in person, but hey, that’s how it goes sometimes, I guess. Thanks for all the shock and outrage — I’m disappointed too. But that’s okay. So proud of our movie.”

The Academy stepped in with a last-ditch move, asking her instead to present, which allowed Zegler into the Dolby Theatre for the show.

“Growing up in Australia, I never thought that I would stand on this stage,” “Euphoria” star Jacob Elordi said.

“And I never thought that I would be here six days ago, but dreams really can come true!” Zegler finished to laughs from the audience.

The pair introduced the award for visual effects, which went to “Dune.”

Originally Published: