Skip to content

Man fatally stabbed in leg by stranger after fender-bender on Bronx expressway

Author
UPDATED:

A man was fatally stabbed in the leg as his horrified girlfriend watched after the couple got into a fender-bender with the killer on a Bronx expressway, cops said Sunday.

The 42-year-old victim and his 36-year-old girlfriend, who was driving, were struck by a vehicle on the Bruckner Expressway in Unionport just before midnight, cops said.

Bloodstains were still visible Sunday, a day after a Bronx man died from a stab wound during a dispute outside of 2162 Bruckner Blvd. in the Bronx.
Bloodstains were still visible Sunday, a day after a Bronx man died from a stab wound during a dispute outside of 2162 Bruckner Blvd. in the Bronx.

Both vehicles pulled over near Castle Hill Ave., apparently to exchange information, but the conversation soon turned violent.

A man inside the other vehicle — it’s not clear if he was the driver or a passenger — took a sharp object and stabbed the victim in the right leg, cops said.

The attack cut through an artery, police said. Medics took the victim to Jacobi Medical Center, but he died of the wound.

Cops are still looking for the stabber.

Blood stains remained on the sidewalk Sunday afternoon as neighbors tried to make sense of the violence.

“All I saw was the police, they had everything lined off. I didn’t realize that until I got here early this morning,” said a buildings superintendent, gesturing to the bloodied pavement. “And then I saw the blood and everything there, and I was like, ‘My God.'”

The man, who oversees three buildings on the block, said the gory sight made him wary about his own safety in the neighborhood.

“Things do happen in New York, but at my job, where I work at, it bothers me a little bit,” he said. “This doesn’t happen around my neighborhood. I’ve been here for almost three years, and nothing like this has ever occurred before. It’s a shock to me.”

“I don’t care what nationality you are, life is life. For people to just do that … ” he continued as he shook his head. “It’s very sad.”

A local resident echoed the shockwave the stabbing sent through the usually sleepy neighborhood.

“It’s eye-opening about the area,” said Dave Sukhu, 30. “I didn’t realize until the police came to my house.”

Cops requested to review Sukhu’s home surveillance footage to try to track down the assailant, but the video didn’t catch the violence.

“Nothing really happens, at least around here,” Sukhu said.

The killing comes just two weeks after an enraged Infiniti driver shot a man to death over a fender-bender in Brooklyn.

Jose Flores was shot after leaving a party in Brownsville around 4:30 a.m. March 13. Surveillance video released last week shows his killer chased him down with a gun after the two got into a minor collision at the corner of Tapscott St. and Blake Ave.

Originally Published: