Helping Undocumented and First-Generation Students the Way She Wished She’d Been Supported

In our Fellowship Series, we feature stories and work from Moonshot Fellows. The Moonshot Innovation Space (formerly known as the Moonshot Fellowship) allows individuals to explore designing and launching a new learning environment, such as a new school or program.

In the post below, Fryda Faugier Ferreira (Moonshot Fellow, Cohort 4) shares her journey as an undocumented leader and how she’s helping the next generation find their way with her new organization, Alate Consulting.


“I first started by sharing my story.”

Fryda Faugier Ferreira (Moonshot Fellow, Cohort 4)

I’m a proud Moonshot Cohort 4 alum! The Moonshot Fellowship, now known as the Moonshot Innovation Space, gave the tools, skills, experiences, and knowledge and confidence to leave traditional employment and do my own thing. It taught me to think outside the box and work within systems and institutions to break things down and make some real impact and changes for the communities I'm serving. 

But, let’s start at the beginning. 

I am a first-generation high school and college graduate. I’m originally from Mexico City, and have grown up as a DACA recipient/Undocumented in Colorado. I graduated from Cherry Creek School District, and I went to the University of Denver where I triple majored in International Studies, Socio-Legal Studies, and Spanish. I first started on the work I’m doing now by being an advocate, sharing my story and experience as an undocumented individual both locally and nationally. That led me to work in higher education directly supporting students, which then led to nonprofits and doing legal work. Outside of education work, I am a dog mom with two fur babies that I adore, and I love making and viewing art. 

The Journey Itself

Moonshot helped me at a critical juncture in my life. I knew the changes I wanted to see for my community, but I wasn’t sure how I could best do that. It was also the start of the Covid-19 pandemic, and there were just so many unknowns but I had the most amazing experience and cohort. We managed to bond and make some really amazing friends and bring ideas to life despite being at home on zoom. I’m so proud to be a Moonshot Fellow!

The journey itself pushed me a ton. It was really hard but I grew so much as a leader and an entrepreneur. I learned the importance of budgeting and data tracking which is hugely important. I felt my skill sets around operations and logistics grow astronomically. Yet, quite honestly, I still had so much fear about what was next. 

After the Moonshot Fellowship, I continued working full-time. A few years later, I was ready to move onto something new. But I realized that, as I was looking for a new role, I no longer saw myself in positions at existing institutions. I was not excited about what was out there, and I also knew that I wanted to continue helping my community. During my unemployment period, I spent a lot of time volunteering for incoming migrant clinics, financial aid clinics and I realized that our community needs a lot of help, specifically our undocumented students that are getting ready to graduate high school and looking for their next step. 

In the years since my time as a Moonshot Fellow, I kept thinking about what I had learned about my leadership, about building an organization, along with what I was seeing during my day-to-day work. So, last November, I took the plunge and I started my own LLC. I brought back my ideas but, this time, I built something that feels up-to-date, fresh, and, most importantly, serves a critical need for our community right now. 

Introducing Alate Consulting: 1:1 Coaching for Undocumented and First-Generation Students

At Alate Consulting, we work on supporting undocumented and first generation students navigate college and career. We do so by direct 1:1 coaching, workshops and financial aid support. In addition to this we partner with and support nonprofit organizations, universities, and employers to support, retain, and recruit undocumented talent through collaborations, workshops, and professional development & training. 

Schools and guidance counselors in our communities are overwhelmed with the amount of students on their caseloads but also aren't receiving culturally appropriate training to take on these nuances of what undocumented students are facing as they navigate higher education and careers. And so with my experience, passion, and skills, I knew that I could make a difference. I want to support these students and their families navigate these next steps in a way that is culturally aware, empathetic, and understanding of the situation, and provide them with the tools and resources necessary to make informed decisions and build their own unique pathways.

Fryda leading a workshop for parents and families

I also saw a huge opportunity for employers and universities to solve two big problems. For employers there's a people shortage but the reality is that they are overlooking talented individuals that could do these jobs because they lack a legal status. And, similar to universities that are seeing a decrease in admissions and persistence rates, employers are not actively recruiting undocumented talent because they are not adequately prepared to serve them and support them throughout their college journey and beyond.

Both problems that can be solved with unique and innovative solutions that start with someone speaking up. 

The Magic of Being Understood

Members of the Alate and Moonshot community at a story-telling workshop with the Denver Journal of Education and Community

My favorite part is when I'm working with a new student or family and as I'm explaining the services, process and how and why we do what we do, is when they can relate when they  are excited that they feel seen, heard and understood. They get a wide smile on their face, and you can visibly see a sense of relief and excitement and that's what makes my day everytime. My motto has always been to be the person I needed when I was navigating higher ed and beyond, so to hear someone tell me that the work I'm doing means so much to them is why I work so hard to do this. 

Once people find out about what we do, the reaction is always positive. I hear a lot of people say this is so needed, or i've been looking for this. I've had parents sigh with relief when they hear about our work and how we can support them and how we include them in the process. I've heard educators and counselors enthusiastically support and  want to partner to bring this work to their staff and students.

At the end of the day I want our community to know that we are here for them to support them, that this was made by someone who has gone through this process and is passionate, empathetic and determined to support as many people as we can. 

Learn More and Get In Touch