Skip to content

Breaking News

PUBLISHED:

If you’re like me, you struggle with how to get rid of the clothes in the back of your closet you no longer wear. I try to donate items to the nearest thrift store to give them another life. However, I’ve learned this practice isn’t as sustainable as I thought.

According to CalRecycle, only 10-15% of donated clothes are resold. Most of the remaining clothes are either sent to landfills in California or overseas, wasting reusable material.

The Responsible Textile Recovery Act addresses the need for a sustainable method of clothing disposal by establishing a textile recycling program, paid for by producers. This bill will help divert waste from landfills and reduce the fashion industry’s environmental impact.

The Responsible Textile Recovery Act is set to be voted on in the state Legislature. Join me in advocating for this bill by telling your state representative you support it.

Radha Feist
Berkeley