Hands-On With Google's Pixel Fold Smartphone

Google in May unveiled its first foldable smartphone, the Pixel Fold. We picked up a Pixel Fold and thought we'd check it out to see how it compares to Apple's latest iPhones.


The Pixel Fold has a display size of 7.6 inches when it is unfolded, but when collapsed, the cover display measures in at 5.8 inches. Both displays feature a refresh rate up to 120Hz, like the latest Pro iPhones. It has a strong hinge that works at any angle, and when closed, there's no gap in the hinge.

Size wise, the Pixel Fold is the perfect size for day to day use when folded thanks to the cover screen, and it's sized like the iPhone X for reference. At 7.6 inches unfolded, it's bigger than any smartphone but smaller than an iPad mini, so it is a nice in-between size that's neither too small nor too big.

There's a Google Tensor G2 processor inside, Google's analogue to the A-series chips that Apple designs. It features 12GB RAM and starts with 256GB of storage and a 4821mAh battery, so the hardware is not too far off of what Apple's offering. As for software, Google has been working on Android for foldable smartphones, but developers have not all adapted their Android apps for the form factor and it's noticeable.

Google included a 48-megapixel rear camera, the same as Apple's 14 Pro and Pro Max, which is okay, but nothing spectacular. It also has 10.8-megapixel telephoto and ultrawide cameras, along with a 9.5-megapixel front-facing camera and an 8-megapixel inner camera.

Rumors have suggested that Apple is experimenting with foldable smartphone technology, but so far work on such a device has not moved out of the early prototyping stage. There is no word on when Apple might come out with a folding ‌iPhone‌, but with the launch of the Pixel Fold, the major Android manufacturers all offer foldable smartphones.

The Pixel Fold is priced at $1,800, which is much higher priced than anything Apple offers. The steep price point for foldables may be one reason why Apple has yet to enter the market.

Popular Stories

iPhone SE 4 Vertical Camera Feature

iPhone SE 4 Rumored to Use Same Rear Chassis as iPhone 16

Friday July 19, 2024 7:16 am PDT by
Apple will adopt the same rear chassis manufacturing process for the iPhone SE 4 that it is using for the upcoming standard iPhone 16, claims a new rumor coming out of China. According to the Weibo-based leaker "Fixed Focus Digital," the backplate manufacturing process for the iPhone SE 4 is "exactly the same" as the standard model in Apple's upcoming iPhone 16 lineup, which is expected to...
iPhone 16 Pro Sizes Feature

iPhone 16 Series Is Just Two Months Away: Everything We Know

Monday July 15, 2024 4:44 am PDT by
Apple typically releases its new iPhone series around mid-September, which means we are about two months out from the launch of the iPhone 16. Like the iPhone 15 series, this year's lineup is expected to stick with four models – iPhone 16, iPhone 16 Plus, iPhone 16 Pro, and iPhone 16 Pro Max – although there are plenty of design differences and new features to take into account. To bring ...
iphone 14 lineup

Cellebrite Unable to Unlock iPhones on iOS 17.4 or Later, Leak Reveals

Thursday July 18, 2024 4:18 am PDT by
Israel-based mobile forensics company Cellebrite is unable to unlock iPhones running iOS 17.4 or later, according to leaked documents verified by 404 Media. The documents provide a rare glimpse into the capabilities of the company's mobile forensics tools and highlight the ongoing security improvements in Apple's latest devices. The leaked "Cellebrite iOS Support Matrix" obtained by 404 Media...
tinypod apple watch

TinyPod Turns Your Apple Watch Into an iPod

Wednesday July 17, 2024 3:18 pm PDT by
If you have an old Apple Watch and you're not sure what to do with it, a new product called TinyPod might be the answer. Priced at $79, the TinyPod is a silicone case with a built-in scroll wheel that houses the Apple Watch chassis. When an Apple Watch is placed inside the TinyPod, the click wheel on the case is able to be used to scroll through the Apple Watch interface. The feature works...
bsod

Crowdstrike Says Global IT Outage Impacting Windows PCs, But Mac and Linux Hosts Not Affected

Friday July 19, 2024 3:12 am PDT by
A widespread system failure is currently affecting numerous Windows devices globally, causing critical boot failures across various industries, including banks, rail networks, airlines, retailers, broadcasters, healthcare, and many more sectors. The issue, manifesting as a Blue Screen of Death (BSOD), is preventing computers from starting up properly and forcing them into continuous recovery...
Apple Watch Series 9

2024 Apple Watch Lineup: Key Changes We're Expecting

Tuesday July 16, 2024 7:59 am PDT by
Apple is seemingly planning a rework of the Apple Watch lineup for 2024, according to a range of reports from over the past year. Here's everything we know so far. Apple is expected to continue to offer three different Apple Watch models in five casing sizes, but the various display sizes will allegedly grow by up to 12% and the casings will get taller. Based on all of the latest rumors,...

Top Rated Comments

contacos Avatar
13 months ago

I’d pay $1,800 for an iOS foldable, 100%
That’s what you will pay soon for a non-foldable iPhone
Score: 32 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Apple Fan 2008 Avatar
13 months ago
Ah yes... the future

Attachment Image
Score: 29 Votes (Like | Disagree)
MacWiz_007 Avatar
13 months ago
Finally I can send an update! I got my Pixel Fold on June 27th (Porcelain 256GB), and I like it so much it was easy to trade my Z Fold 4 in for it. The combination of the form factor and a more vanilla Android experience were enough for me to make the switch. The battery optimization and battery life are much better than the Z Fold 4 as well, in my use case anyway. I use my phone between 1.5 and 2 hours a day during the week, at most, and I always have around 70% battery life at the end of the day (my day starts at 4:45am and ends at 8:45pm). The inner and outer display look great and the speech recognition for texts, etc. is top notch. It is buttery smooth no matter what I've thrown at it. I haven't had any issues with the phone getting too hot or overheating. Maybe I won the Tensor chip lottery, but again no issues here. The bezels don't bother me like I thought they would because I force dark mode on everything anyway. I do hate bezels with a passion, but I don't ever really see the bezels on the PF. Also, the bezels do prevent accidental touches and it gives me something extra to use when folding the device so I don't feel like I'm pushing on the display. The cameras are top tier. It fits easily in pants/shorts/gym shorts pockets. When folded it is barely thicker than my wife's 12 Pro Max with a slim case on it. This phone honestly looks and feels a lot like I would imagine a Steve Jobs era foldable phone would end up looking and feeling in hand. If you have ever wanted to try a foldable, I highly recommend the Pixel Fold. Even though I pretty much despise Google, this is a great phone and at least Google is US based (unlike Samsung, etc.), which is a big win to me. Worst case scenario, you can always return it. For reference, I owned every iPhone from the 4 to the 12 Pro Max. I jumped ship for the Z Fold 3 and I've never looked back nor have I regretted this decision. Every device I owned was Apple, and it was a lot of devices. The switch was not difficult for me at all. I know the diehards will downvote this, but that's okay. When I see someone with an iPhone now, I think to myself "Aw, what a cute little slab phone that never changes its design and doesn't support multitasking, I'm glad I don't have one of those anymore". Come on folks, I have to have a little fun with you here! ? I think it is nice to have options in this world. If Apple made a book style foldable iPhone, I would consider going back to Apple. I really enjoy Android now though. It has come a looooong way in the past five years.

***For those of you who are about to say "it's a solution in search of a problem" or "I don't get the appeal of foldables", it is simple really. I was using an iPhone and an iPad Mini daily, and I wanted two devices in one highly portable device. It's not rocket science***
Score: 27 Votes (Like | Disagree)
surfzen21 Avatar
13 months ago
There appears to be no way to make a foldable screen look premium.

That crease makes it look like a cheap $10 kids toy.
Score: 21 Votes (Like | Disagree)
TheYayAreaLiving ?️ Avatar
13 months ago
It looks cool but not worth $1,800 for a smartphone.
Score: 17 Votes (Like | Disagree)
1800AirTAG Avatar
13 months ago
Im probably in the minority here, but if I wasnt so deep into the Apple ecosystem, I would have bought this at launch.

I know some feel it’s dumb or just a gimmick, which I can agree with gimmick, but after playing with a galaxy fold for a few hours, I can’t help but love the concept folding concept.
Score: 16 Votes (Like | Disagree)