Apple-Owned Shazam App Surpasses 200 Million Monthly Active Users Worldwide

Shazam, the music recognition app that Apple purchased in 2018, has surpassed 200 million monthly active users worldwide. Shazam is available as a standalone app and as a built-in feature on the iPhone and iPad, accessible through Siri and through a new Music Recognition toggle added to the Control Center in iOS 14.

shazam app apple
Oliver Schusser, Apple's vice president of Apple Music, Beats, and International Content, commented on the milestone and said that Apple and Shazam offer a "seamless experience" for music fans.

"Apple Music and Shazam offer a seamless experience to music fans around the world, from Shazam's ubiquitous discovery platform to Apple Music's unparalleled content, global live radio stations and human curation. Looking back at our long history together, we can only see how close our missions have been: bringing the best home for music lovers and creators everywhere."

To celebrate, Shazam has shared a list of the 100 most Shazamed tracks ever across the globe, with the list available on Apple Music. The number one song on the list is Tones and I's pop single "Dance Monkey" with more than 36.6 million Shazams since its May 2019 release. Tones and I said that Shazam has had a major impact in terms of reaching new listeners.

"Shazam has been a huge platform for me in terms of reaching people. I didn't have a following when I released 'Dance monkey,' but it gave me the opportunity to reach more people and elevate my fan-base, which has all let to creating a career for myself. Shazam is definitely an app designed to help more unknown artists, and everyone knows Tones loves an up-and-comer!"

The second most Shazamed song was Lilly Wood & The Prick & Robin Schulz's "Prayer in C," while the number three most Shazamed song was Passenger's "Let Her Go."

Along with the top song list, those interested in finding more new music can do so through the Shazam Discovery Top 50, which offers up new songs from breaking artists around the world. Shazam also offers global, country, and city-specific top charts both in the app and on the Shazam website.

Shazam can be downloaded from the App Store for free, and it can be accessed through the Control Center on ‌iPhone‌ and ‌iPad‌, through ‌Siri‌ commands, or on the Mac. Shazam is also available on Android devices and select features can be accessed on the web.

Popular Stories

iPhone SE 4 Vertical Camera Feature

iPhone SE 4 Rumored to Use Same Rear Chassis as iPhone 16

Friday July 19, 2024 7:16 am PDT by
Apple will adopt the same rear chassis manufacturing process for the iPhone SE 4 that it is using for the upcoming standard iPhone 16, claims a new rumor coming out of China. According to the Weibo-based leaker "Fixed Focus Digital," the backplate manufacturing process for the iPhone SE 4 is "exactly the same" as the standard model in Apple's upcoming iPhone 16 lineup, which is expected to...
iPhone 16 Pro Sizes Feature

iPhone 16 Series Is Just Two Months Away: Everything We Know

Monday July 15, 2024 4:44 am PDT by
Apple typically releases its new iPhone series around mid-September, which means we are about two months out from the launch of the iPhone 16. Like the iPhone 15 series, this year's lineup is expected to stick with four models – iPhone 16, iPhone 16 Plus, iPhone 16 Pro, and iPhone 16 Pro Max – although there are plenty of design differences and new features to take into account. To bring ...
bsod

Crowdstrike Says Global IT Outage Impacting Windows PCs, But Mac and Linux Hosts Not Affected

Friday July 19, 2024 3:12 am PDT by
A widespread system failure is currently affecting numerous Windows devices globally, causing critical boot failures across various industries, including banks, rail networks, airlines, retailers, broadcasters, healthcare, and many more sectors. The issue, manifesting as a Blue Screen of Death (BSOD), is preventing computers from starting up properly and forcing them into continuous recovery...
iphone 14 lineup

Cellebrite Unable to Unlock iPhones on iOS 17.4 or Later, Leak Reveals

Thursday July 18, 2024 4:18 am PDT by
Israel-based mobile forensics company Cellebrite is unable to unlock iPhones running iOS 17.4 or later, according to leaked documents verified by 404 Media. The documents provide a rare glimpse into the capabilities of the company's mobile forensics tools and highlight the ongoing security improvements in Apple's latest devices. The leaked "Cellebrite iOS Support Matrix" obtained by 404 Media...
Apple Watch Series 9

2024 Apple Watch Lineup: Key Changes We're Expecting

Tuesday July 16, 2024 7:59 am PDT by
Apple is seemingly planning a rework of the Apple Watch lineup for 2024, according to a range of reports from over the past year. Here's everything we know so far. Apple is expected to continue to offer three different Apple Watch models in five casing sizes, but the various display sizes will allegedly grow by up to 12% and the casings will get taller. Based on all of the latest rumors,...
tinypod apple watch

TinyPod Turns Your Apple Watch Into an iPod

Wednesday July 17, 2024 3:18 pm PDT by
If you have an old Apple Watch and you're not sure what to do with it, a new product called TinyPod might be the answer. Priced at $79, the TinyPod is a silicone case with a built-in scroll wheel that houses the Apple Watch chassis. When an Apple Watch is placed inside the TinyPod, the click wheel on the case is able to be used to scroll through the Apple Watch interface. The feature works...

Top Rated Comments

contacos Avatar
48 months ago
Its amazing how I have had that app on my last 5 iPhones and probably used it a total of 5 times but somehow I do not want to get rid of it in case I do need it some day :D
Score: 4 Votes (Like | Disagree)
iosfan1991 Avatar
48 months ago

but that does not give me a history. Whenever I would need it, it would be for "later" so I can find it when I am back home on my computer. Doesn't help me if Siri just tells me the name. I would forget it within minutes lol
Look in the iTunes Store app. In the upper right corner, tap the menu icon. You'll see three options: Wish List, Siri, and Previews. Tap Siri, and you'll see a list of every song you've asked Siri to identify
Score: 3 Votes (Like | Disagree)
contacos Avatar
48 months ago

It’s built into Siri isn’t it? You technically don’t need this app.
but that does not give me a history. Whenever I would need it, it would be for "later" so I can find it when I am back home on my computer. Doesn't help me if Siri just tells me the name. I would forget it within minutes lol
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Sam Squanch Avatar
48 months ago

My only problem is trying to remember the damn name every time I need it ??
Don't know what device you're using it on but when I use it on the iPhone all I do is activate Siri and ask, "What is this song?" I never use the Shazam name. I don't use it much but when I have it is batting 100% so far, pretty impressive IMO.
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)
FightTheFuture Avatar
48 months ago

Its amazing how I have had that app on my last 5 iPhones and probably used it a total of 5 times but somehow I do not want to get rid of it in case I do need it some day :D
It’s built into Siri isn’t it? You technically don’t need this app.
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)
martin2345uk Avatar
48 months ago
Now it's right there in the control centre I find I'm using it even more
Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)