Apple TV App on Select LG Smart TVs Will Support Dolby Atmos Sound 'Later This Year'

Dolby Atmos support for the newly released Apple TV app and AirPlay 2 on select LG smart TVs is coming in a software update "later this year," an LG spokesperson has confirmed to FlatpanelsHD.com.

lg apple tv app dolby atmos
Earlier this week, LG announced that the Apple TV app and accompanying ‌Apple TV‌+ streaming service are now available on select 2019 LG smart TVs in the United States and more than 80 other countries. This follows the CES debut of LG's new 2020 models that come with the ‌Apple TV‌ app preinstalled out of the box.

Dolby Atmos was developed to give sound from movies and TV shows a more three-dimensional effect. Rather than being constrained to channels, sounds can be precisely placed and moved in three-dimensional space.

Dolby Atmos is also supported on the Apple TV 4K running tvOS 12 or later.

Popular Stories

iPhone SE 4 Vertical Camera Feature

iPhone SE 4 Rumored to Use Same Rear Chassis as iPhone 16

Friday July 19, 2024 7:16 am PDT by
Apple will adopt the same rear chassis manufacturing process for the iPhone SE 4 that it is using for the upcoming standard iPhone 16, claims a new rumor coming out of China. According to the Weibo-based leaker "Fixed Focus Digital," the backplate manufacturing process for the iPhone SE 4 is "exactly the same" as the standard model in Apple's upcoming iPhone 16 lineup, which is expected to...
iPhone 16 Pro Sizes Feature

iPhone 16 Series Is Just Two Months Away: Everything We Know

Monday July 15, 2024 4:44 am PDT by
Apple typically releases its new iPhone series around mid-September, which means we are about two months out from the launch of the iPhone 16. Like the iPhone 15 series, this year's lineup is expected to stick with four models – iPhone 16, iPhone 16 Plus, iPhone 16 Pro, and iPhone 16 Pro Max – although there are plenty of design differences and new features to take into account. To bring ...
bsod

Crowdstrike Says Global IT Outage Impacting Windows PCs, But Mac and Linux Hosts Not Affected

Friday July 19, 2024 3:12 am PDT by
A widespread system failure is currently affecting numerous Windows devices globally, causing critical boot failures across various industries, including banks, rail networks, airlines, retailers, broadcasters, healthcare, and many more sectors. The issue, manifesting as a Blue Screen of Death (BSOD), is preventing computers from starting up properly and forcing them into continuous recovery...
iphone 14 lineup

Cellebrite Unable to Unlock iPhones on iOS 17.4 or Later, Leak Reveals

Thursday July 18, 2024 4:18 am PDT by
Israel-based mobile forensics company Cellebrite is unable to unlock iPhones running iOS 17.4 or later, according to leaked documents verified by 404 Media. The documents provide a rare glimpse into the capabilities of the company's mobile forensics tools and highlight the ongoing security improvements in Apple's latest devices. The leaked "Cellebrite iOS Support Matrix" obtained by 404 Media...
Apple Watch Series 9

2024 Apple Watch Lineup: Key Changes We're Expecting

Tuesday July 16, 2024 7:59 am PDT by
Apple is seemingly planning a rework of the Apple Watch lineup for 2024, according to a range of reports from over the past year. Here's everything we know so far. Apple is expected to continue to offer three different Apple Watch models in five casing sizes, but the various display sizes will allegedly grow by up to 12% and the casings will get taller. Based on all of the latest rumors,...
tinypod apple watch

TinyPod Turns Your Apple Watch Into an iPod

Wednesday July 17, 2024 3:18 pm PDT by
If you have an old Apple Watch and you're not sure what to do with it, a new product called TinyPod might be the answer. Priced at $79, the TinyPod is a silicone case with a built-in scroll wheel that houses the Apple Watch chassis. When an Apple Watch is placed inside the TinyPod, the click wheel on the case is able to be used to scroll through the Apple Watch interface. The feature works...

Top Rated Comments

medee88 Avatar
58 months ago

Don't get me started on this again. No AppleTV+ app on LG TV's that are older than 2019 but perfectly capable of running those apps?

Don't get me wrong I love my 2017 LG OLED but they've seriously hacked me off by not providing support for applications like AppleTV+ that the set could easily handle. It supports 4K Netflix in Dolby Vision so there's no reason I can think of that they can't support AppleTV+ too.

I won't be buying an LG next time.
Just as a curiosity, do you find using the built in TV apps better then using just an external device? I also have a 2017 LG OLED (C7) and I've honestly never used the built in apps. To me an Apple TV/Roku always seems superior to any TV experience I've messed with.

I honestly wish it was possible to just buy a monitor that looked exactly like the OLED tv with none of the smart stuff at a lower price.
Score: 6 Votes (Like | Disagree)
SaxPlayer Avatar
58 months ago
Don't get me started on this again. No AppleTV+ app on LG TV's that are older than 2019 but perfectly capable of running those apps?

Don't get me wrong I love my 2017 LG OLED but they've seriously hacked me off by not providing support for applications like AppleTV+ that the set could easily handle. It supports 4K Netflix in Dolby Vision so there's no reason I can think of that they can't support AppleTV+ too.

I won't be buying an LG next time.
Score: 3 Votes (Like | Disagree)
SaxPlayer Avatar
58 months ago

The Apple TV app would work better on 2019 LG OLEDs, esp. with Dolby Atmos, because they are the only ones that support HDMI 2.1 and eARC. I tried getting Dolby Atmos to work from my HDMI 2.0 2018 LG OLED with my HDMI 2.0 Marantz receiver, and it just doesn’t work.
I hear you and you make a valid point. My position is that AppleTV+ without Dolby Atmos would work fine and doesn't need a super up to date TV to function, as is demonstrated by Netflix and others on the set.


That’s a pretty strange reason not to buy an LG next time. Yours is a frickin’ 3 year-old TV. Generally in TVs, if it’s not there when you buy it, don’t expect to ever have it, unless they specifically made a point to announce the upgrade before you bought it. That’s normal for the consumer electronics companies.
You're not wrong, but just because some tech companies behave like that it doesn't mean that I have to like it. Other tech companies have rolled out support for AppleTV+ to their older sets, so if they can do it...!
Score: 3 Votes (Like | Disagree)
jetjaguar Avatar
58 months ago

Just as a curiosity, do you find using the built in TV apps better then using just an external device? I also have a 2017 LG OLED (C7) and I've honestly never used the built in apps. To me an Apple TV/Roku always seems superior to any TV experience I've messed with.

I honestly wish it was possible to just buy a monitor that looked exactly like the OLED tv with none of the smart stuff at a lower price.
Yup .. hate smart tv apps .. Like you I wish I could purchase the OLED without it.
Score: 3 Votes (Like | Disagree)
EugW Avatar
58 months ago

Don't get me started on this again. No AppleTV+ app on LG TV's that are older than 2019 but perfectly capable of running those apps?

Don't get me wrong I love my 2017 LG OLED but they've seriously hacked me off by not providing support for applications like AppleTV+ that the set could easily handle. It supports 4K Netflix in Dolby Vision so there's no reason I can think of that they can't support AppleTV+ too.
I have the 2018 LG C8 OLED, and don’t get the Apple TV app either, but I don’t really care that much. I’d rather just use the Apple TV 4K, because that way I get my Dolby Atmos.

The Apple TV app would work better on 2019 LG OLEDs, esp. with Dolby Atmos, because they are the only ones that support HDMI 2.1 and eARC. I tried getting Dolby Atmos to work from my HDMI 2.0 2018 LG OLED with my HDMI 2.0 Marantz receiver, and it just doesn’t work.

I won't be buying an LG next time.
That’s a pretty strange reason not to buy an LG next time. Yours is a frickin’ 3 year-old TV. Generally in TVs, if it’s not there when you buy it, don’t expect to ever have it, unless they specifically made a point to announce the upgrade before you bought it. That’s normal for the consumer electronics companies.
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)
fmcshan Avatar
58 months ago
Stopped by LG’s CES booth this year and was excited about the 2020 TV’s having the Apple TV app built in. Still not quite sure why LG doesn’t support the Apple TV app on older models released prior to 2019.
Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)