Apple Completes Shazam Acquisition, App Will Soon Become Ad-Free

Apple today announced it has completed its acquisition of music recognition service Shazam, after reaching a preliminary agreement in December. Apple says the Shazam app will soon become ad-free for all users.

apple shazam
Oliver Schusser, Vice President of Apple Music:

Apple and Shazam have a long history together. Shazam was one of the first apps available when we launched the App Store and has become a favorite app for music fans everywhere. With a shared love of music and innovation, we are thrilled to bring our teams together to provide users even more great ways to discover, experience and enjoy music.

Shazam is a popular service that can identify the names and lyrics of songs, music videos, TV shows, and more, simply by listening to and deciphering whatever is playing. Shazam has apps across iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, iMessage, and Mac, and has been built into Siri since iOS 8.

Apple announced its plans to acquire Shazam in a statement provided to MacRumors and other media outlets back in December:

We are thrilled that Shazam and its talented team will be joining Apple. Since the launch of the App Store, Shazam has consistently ranked as one of the most popular apps for iOS. Today, it's used by hundreds of millions of people around the world, across multiple platforms. Apple Music and Shazam are a natural fit, sharing a passion for music discovery and delivering great music experiences to our users. We have exciting plans in store, and we look forward to combining with Shazam upon approval of today's agreement.

Shazam issued the following statement at that time:

We are excited to announce that Shazam has entered into an agreement to become part of Apple. Shazam is one of the highest rated apps in the world and loved by hundreds of millions of users and we can't imagine a better home for Shazam to enable us to continue innovating and delivering magic for our users.

Apple completed its acquisition of Shazam just a few weeks after European regulators approved of the merger. Terms of the deal have not been disclosed, but a report from TechCrunch's Ingrid Lunden valued it around $400 million.

Shazam's app was optimized for iOS 12 on Friday.

Popular Stories

iPhone SE 4 Vertical Camera Feature

iPhone SE 4 Rumored to Use Same Rear Chassis as iPhone 16

Friday July 19, 2024 7:16 am PDT by
Apple will adopt the same rear chassis manufacturing process for the iPhone SE 4 that it is using for the upcoming standard iPhone 16, claims a new rumor coming out of China. According to the Weibo-based leaker "Fixed Focus Digital," the backplate manufacturing process for the iPhone SE 4 is "exactly the same" as the standard model in Apple's upcoming iPhone 16 lineup, which is expected to...
iPhone 16 Pro Sizes Feature

iPhone 16 Series Is Just Two Months Away: Everything We Know

Monday July 15, 2024 4:44 am PDT by
Apple typically releases its new iPhone series around mid-September, which means we are about two months out from the launch of the iPhone 16. Like the iPhone 15 series, this year's lineup is expected to stick with four models – iPhone 16, iPhone 16 Plus, iPhone 16 Pro, and iPhone 16 Pro Max – although there are plenty of design differences and new features to take into account. To bring ...
iphone 14 lineup

Cellebrite Unable to Unlock iPhones on iOS 17.4 or Later, Leak Reveals

Thursday July 18, 2024 4:18 am PDT by
Israel-based mobile forensics company Cellebrite is unable to unlock iPhones running iOS 17.4 or later, according to leaked documents verified by 404 Media. The documents provide a rare glimpse into the capabilities of the company's mobile forensics tools and highlight the ongoing security improvements in Apple's latest devices. The leaked "Cellebrite iOS Support Matrix" obtained by 404 Media...
tinypod apple watch

TinyPod Turns Your Apple Watch Into an iPod

Wednesday July 17, 2024 3:18 pm PDT by
If you have an old Apple Watch and you're not sure what to do with it, a new product called TinyPod might be the answer. Priced at $79, the TinyPod is a silicone case with a built-in scroll wheel that houses the Apple Watch chassis. When an Apple Watch is placed inside the TinyPod, the click wheel on the case is able to be used to scroll through the Apple Watch interface. The feature works...
bsod

Crowdstrike Says Global IT Outage Impacting Windows PCs, But Mac and Linux Hosts Not Affected

Friday July 19, 2024 3:12 am PDT by
A widespread system failure is currently affecting numerous Windows devices globally, causing critical boot failures across various industries, including banks, rail networks, airlines, retailers, broadcasters, healthcare, and many more sectors. The issue, manifesting as a Blue Screen of Death (BSOD), is preventing computers from starting up properly and forcing them into continuous recovery...
Apple Watch Series 9

2024 Apple Watch Lineup: Key Changes We're Expecting

Tuesday July 16, 2024 7:59 am PDT by
Apple is seemingly planning a rework of the Apple Watch lineup for 2024, according to a range of reports from over the past year. Here's everything we know so far. Apple is expected to continue to offer three different Apple Watch models in five casing sizes, but the various display sizes will allegedly grow by up to 12% and the casings will get taller. Based on all of the latest rumors,...

Top Rated Comments

5105973 Avatar
76 months ago
How do I know I have become old? I don't use Shazam any more. Why do I think that means I've become old? Because I don't really care about new music and finding out more about it. Add that to the list of things that change in your 30s. I'll likely listen to the same garbage the rest of my life now, except for maybe newer electronic music on the Monstercat podcast which I listen to when I need to zone out while programming or whatever.
Jeez how old are you? I’m 52 now and I still Shazam songs when I’m out and there’s music playing. I find a lot of stuff that was popular when I was in my 30’s but was too busy working to keep up with. Plus some current music is pretty fun. I also have the music identification feature on my Google Pixel that is always on and is pretty cool, too. I can’t imagine listening to the same music over and over for the rest of my life.
Score: 7 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Niklas_nick Avatar
76 months ago
Hope they keep the Spotify integration.
Score: 6 Votes (Like | Disagree)
djcerla Avatar
76 months ago
Nothing is free. If the ads get removed, that’s because you are the product (which is true in iOS and Android).
You got it backwards: you already paid for an hardware product and will get a better service with Shazam integrated at system level. You are not the product here.
Score: 6 Votes (Like | Disagree)
SkippyThorson Avatar
76 months ago
Very nice! Will be interesting to see how this shakes out in terms of integration.

All I can say, please don't bake it in to Siri, and don't remove its integration with Spotify! *

* at least I tried
Score: 5 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Pearple Avatar
76 months ago
Hope they keep the Spotify integration.
They will atomize this first. Sorry. But You can always cancel Spotify and join Apple Music.

That’s the whole point of buying Shazam
Score: 5 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Mefisto Avatar
76 months ago
How do I know I have become old? I don't use Shazam any more. Why do I think that means I've become old? Because I don't really care about new music and finding out more about it. Add that to the list of things that change in your 30s. I'll likely listen to the same garbage the rest of my life now, except for maybe newer electronic music on the Monstercat podcast which I listen to when I need to zone out while programming or whatever.
I get where you're coming from, but I have to say for me it's the complete opposite. I've had more than 20 years to listen to my favorites, and while I still do, there are few better feelings than when I discover a new band or artist that sparks that excitement that pretty much only music can set off inside me. If it's of any importance I'm closer to 40 than 30, so by someone's standards I'm probably already ancient, but seeing as how listening to good tunes has a rejuvenating effect, I don't feel a day over 18!

I've noticed that I Shazam stuff about daily while watching TV and films for example. There's always music playing, and when something catches my ear it's nice to be able to identify it instantly and get to know the artist better.
Score: 5 Votes (Like | Disagree)