Animator and illustrator Wahyu Ichwandardi has shared one of his newest projects on Twitter this week, where he recreated the entire two-minute trailer for Star Wars: The Last Jedi on a vintage Apple IIc from 1984, using the bitmap paint program Dazzle Draw and a KoalaPad+, both from the same year (via TechCrunch).

star wars old apple


The project required 48 floppy discs and 288 image files, totaling 6MB of storage space. For post processing, Ichwandardi used Apple Disk Transfer ProDOS software and a floppy disc emulator device to copy all 288 image files onto a modern MacBook Pro. The result is a full recreation of the first trailer for Star Wars: The Last Jedi, which debuted online in April.
It took Ichwandardi about three weeks to finish the project due to working with the limitations of the vintage hardware and software. Specifically, because Dazzle Draw doesn't have a layers feature, the illustrator had to physically lay an acetate sheet over the Apple IIc's monitor in order to create a guide for the animation in every frame of the trailer.

Complex animations required him to actually trace the characters and motion from the real trailer and redraw it back into Dazzle Draw. More information about his design process can be found in the video below.

Ichwandardi has posted a few updates regarding the Star Wars project on his Instagram page, where users can also check out some other art made on an Apple IIc. These include posters for Star Wars: The Force Awakens, Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, and Star Wars: The Last Jedi, as well as an image of former Apple CEO Steve Jobs.

Top Rated Comments

5105973 Avatar
92 months ago
Oh wow, as someone whose husband still has a fully set up and functioning IIe, it makes me happy to see this.

I remember poring over magazines trying to decide between a IIc or a IIe. While unbeknownst to me, in a neighboring more upscale town, my future husband was doing the same.

I was from a poor family so I actually ended up with an Atari 800XL from the bargain bin of a now defunct store called Zayre's/Ames and made good use of it the rest of college. It was my word processor. My husband got the IIe. It worked out because I had no talent for programming and a IIc or IIe would have been wasted on me. My husband was a different story and his family's purchase launched him on a career.
Score: 22 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Kabeyun Avatar
92 months ago
Oh wow, as someone whose husband still has a fully set up and functioning IIe, it makes me happy to see this.

I remember poring over magazines trying to decide between a IIc or a IIe. While unbeknownst to me, in a neighboring more upscale town, my future husband was doing the same.

I was from a poor family so I actually ended up with an Atari 800XL from the bargain bin of a now defunct store called Zayre's/Ames and made good use of it the rest of college. It was my word processor. My husband got the IIe. It worked out because I had no talent for programming and a IIc or IIe would have been wasted on me. My husband was a different story and his family's purchase launched him on a career.
I had a IIe, a Mockingboard B card with DMCS, an Apple Monitor II, an ImageWriter, joysticks & paddles, 2x5.25" floppy drives with about 400 software titles, all in perfect condition. When I returned from college (with my Mac SE) I discovered that my mother had given it all away.

I could've gotten away with murder, as I'm sure the judge would've completely understood.
Score: 10 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Sill Avatar
92 months ago
I had a IIe, a Mockingboard B card with DMCS, an Apple Monitor II, an ImageWriter, joysticks & paddles, 2x5.25" floppy drives with about 400 software titles, all in perfect condition. When I returned from college (with my Mac SE) I discovered that my mother had given it all away.

I could've gotten away with murder, as I'm sure the judge would've completely understood.
I have my original Apple II since it was new, AppleSoft firmware card, Novation Apple Cat II modem, and loads of software, some of it exceptionally rare and perhaps valuable. Since then, I've accumulated another five machines, including a complete IIgsWoz edition with signed authenticity letter from Woz, and several shelves of software new in the box to go with it.
This stuff has come along every time I've moved, and I've never come close to getting rid of it. In fact I've thrown out items that were far more commercially valuable instead. My parents would not have dared give away my machines. I couldn't imagine coming home and finding out someone made that decision for me.
Score: 7 Votes (Like | Disagree)
keysofanxiety Avatar
92 months ago
I had a IIe, a Mockingboard B card with DMCS, an Apple Monitor II, an ImageWriter, joysticks & paddles, 2x5.25" floppy drives with about 400 software titles, all in perfect condition. When I returned from college (with my Mac SE) I discovered that my mother had given it all away.
Oh l... :eek:

I'm properly wincing hard here. God knows what your reaction must have been. I bet it still hurts too.
Score: 6 Votes (Like | Disagree)
iMacC2D Avatar
92 months ago
That is a colossal waste of time.
I knew almost the moment I saw this was posted on MacRumors that someone would have to chime in like this.

It's impressive, that's what it is, that someone could see the fun not only in what can be done with a computer, but in the computer itself, exploring the limitations of the hardware and pushing those limitations beyond what was previously thought possible. The entire computer industry started this way, particularly on machines like the Altair 8800, where a bunch of individuals took a bunch of individuals chips, lights and switches and found interesting uses for it.

Not everything in life needs to be "productive" by definition, and sometimes that's how the most impressive works come about, having an idea and choosing to pursue it against better logic. I say if he enjoyed making it, and was satisfied with the outcome, then it wasn't a waste of time.
Score: 6 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Saipher Avatar
92 months ago
This is pretty neat!
Score: 5 Votes (Like | Disagree)

Popular Stories

iPhone SE 4 Vertical Camera Feature

iPhone SE 4 Rumored to Use Same Rear Chassis as iPhone 16

Friday July 19, 2024 7:16 am PDT by
Apple will adopt the same rear chassis manufacturing process for the iPhone SE 4 that it is using for the upcoming standard iPhone 16, claims a new rumor coming out of China. According to the Weibo-based leaker "Fixed Focus Digital," the backplate manufacturing process for the iPhone SE 4 is "exactly the same" as the standard model in Apple's upcoming iPhone 16 lineup, which is expected to...
iPhone 17 Plus Feature

iPhone 17 Lineup Specs Detail Display Upgrade and New High-End Model

Monday July 22, 2024 4:33 am PDT by
Key details about the overall specifications of the iPhone 17 lineup have been shared by the leaker known as "Ice Universe," clarifying several important aspects of next year's devices. Reports in recent months have converged in agreement that Apple will discontinue the "Plus" iPhone model in 2025 while introducing an all-new iPhone 17 "Slim" model as an even more high-end option sitting...
iPhone 16 Pro Sizes Feature

iPhone 16 Series Is Just Two Months Away: Everything We Know

Monday July 15, 2024 4:44 am PDT by
Apple typically releases its new iPhone series around mid-September, which means we are about two months out from the launch of the iPhone 16. Like the iPhone 15 series, this year's lineup is expected to stick with four models – iPhone 16, iPhone 16 Plus, iPhone 16 Pro, and iPhone 16 Pro Max – although there are plenty of design differences and new features to take into account. To bring ...
Apple TV Plus Feature 2 Magenta and Blue

Apple TV+ Curbs Costs After Expensive Projects Fail to Capture Viewers

Monday July 22, 2024 5:11 am PDT by
Apple is scaling back its Hollywood spending after investing over $20 billion in original programming with limited success, Bloomberg reports. This shift comes after the streaming service, which launched in 2019, struggled to capture a significant share of the market, accounting for only 0.2% of TV viewership in the U.S., compared to Netflix's 8%. Despite heavy investment, critical acclaim,...
bsod

Microsoft Blames European Commission for Major Worldwide Outage

Monday July 22, 2024 11:55 am PDT by
Last Friday, a major CrowdStrike outage impacted PCs running Microsoft Windows, causing worldwide issues affecting airlines, retailers, banks, hospitals, rail networks, and more. Computers were stuck in continuous recovery loops, rendering them unusable. The failure was caused by an update to the CrowdStrike Falcon antivirus software that auto-installed on Windows 10 PCs, but Mac and Linux...