Apple Music's New Curated Playlist 'My Chill Mix' Begins Appearing for Some Subscribers

Over the past few days, some Apple Music subscribers have noticed the appearance of a new playlist in the "For You" tab of the music streaming app, called "My Chill Mix." Redditor Elliotblyth posted about the playlist recently, noting that their iPad remains on iOS 10 and that they have not yet installed the iOS 11 public beta that released yesterday. Still, a few commenters on the Reddit post have noted the appearance of My Chill Mix while on the iOS 11 beta.

In screenshots, the playlist doesn't have a description like My Favorites Mix and My New Music Mix, but a few users who have been listening to the playlist have given a decent description of what kind of music it includes. As a point of comparison, currently My Favorites Mix (refreshed every Wednesday) gives subscribers a list of the songs they most listen to, while My New Music Mix (refreshed every Friday) recommends newly released music that aligns with the taste of a user's previous listening history.

my chill mix


My Chill Mix is said to be similar to My New Music Mix, but without the rule that only newly released tracks can be in the playlist. This means that Apple Music will pull from music selections that are both old and new, all based on each user's personal listening history and likes/dislikes, to propagate My Chill Mix every Sunday. For subscribers who don't see the new playlist, asking Siri to "play My Chill Mix" sometimes works.

Apple describes My Chill Mix as follows: "Tailored to your music tastes, My Chill Mix is a selection of songs to help you relax and unwind." The playlist originally appeared in the watchOS 4 preview page after WWDC, with Apple including My Chill Mix among the playlists that will automatically sync to Apple Watch. Since then, any mention of the playlist has been removed from that page on Apple.com.

my chill mix 2
My New Music Mix and My Favorites Mix originally appeared on the iOS 10 public beta last September, a few months after WWDC 2016 when Apple originally announced that personally curated playlists would be coming to Apple Music. A few tweaks are coming to Apple Music in iOS 11 as well, including a new social feature where subscribers can make profiles, share playlists, see their friends' playlists, and browse their friends' listening history.

Related Forums: iOS 10, iOS 11

Popular Stories

iPhone SE 4 Vertical Camera Feature

iPhone SE 4 Rumored to Use Same Rear Chassis as iPhone 16

Friday July 19, 2024 7:16 am PDT by
Apple will adopt the same rear chassis manufacturing process for the iPhone SE 4 that it is using for the upcoming standard iPhone 16, claims a new rumor coming out of China. According to the Weibo-based leaker "Fixed Focus Digital," the backplate manufacturing process for the iPhone SE 4 is "exactly the same" as the standard model in Apple's upcoming iPhone 16 lineup, which is expected to...
iPhone 17 Plus Feature

iPhone 17 Lineup Specs Detail Display Upgrade and New High-End Model

Monday July 22, 2024 4:33 am PDT by
Key details about the overall specifications of the iPhone 17 lineup have been shared by the leaker known as "Ice Universe," clarifying several important aspects of next year's devices. Reports in recent months have converged in agreement that Apple will discontinue the "Plus" iPhone model in 2025 while introducing an all-new iPhone 17 "Slim" model as an even more high-end option sitting...
iPhone 16 Pro Sizes Feature

iPhone 16 Series Is Just Two Months Away: Everything We Know

Monday July 15, 2024 4:44 am PDT by
Apple typically releases its new iPhone series around mid-September, which means we are about two months out from the launch of the iPhone 16. Like the iPhone 15 series, this year's lineup is expected to stick with four models – iPhone 16, iPhone 16 Plus, iPhone 16 Pro, and iPhone 16 Pro Max – although there are plenty of design differences and new features to take into account. To bring ...
Apple TV Plus Feature 2 Magenta and Blue

Apple TV+ Curbs Costs After Expensive Projects Fail to Capture Viewers

Monday July 22, 2024 5:11 am PDT by
Apple is scaling back its Hollywood spending after investing over $20 billion in original programming with limited success, Bloomberg reports. This shift comes after the streaming service, which launched in 2019, struggled to capture a significant share of the market, accounting for only 0.2% of TV viewership in the U.S., compared to Netflix's 8%. Despite heavy investment, critical acclaim,...
bsod

Microsoft Blames European Commission for Major Worldwide Outage

Monday July 22, 2024 11:55 am PDT by
Last Friday, a major CrowdStrike outage impacted PCs running Microsoft Windows, causing worldwide issues affecting airlines, retailers, banks, hospitals, rail networks, and more. Computers were stuck in continuous recovery loops, rendering them unusable. The failure was caused by an update to the CrowdStrike Falcon antivirus software that auto-installed on Windows 10 PCs, but Mac and Linux...

Top Rated Comments

omihek Avatar
92 months ago
One of the hardest things for me is finding new music I actually like. Even listening to my favorite artists new albums sometimes there are only 1 or 2 songs that are worth listening to. Curated playlists like this, if populated with music that the user will actually like, could be a big reason to get an Apple Music subscription.
Score: 8 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Corrode Avatar
92 months ago
Despite my using it daily, Apple Music has no effing idea what kind of music I like.
Score: 6 Votes (Like | Disagree)
earthTOmitchel Avatar
92 months ago
One of the hardest things for me is finding new music I actually like. Even listening to my favorite artists new albums sometimes there are only 1 or 2 songs that are worth listening to. Curated playlists like this, if populated with music that the user will actually like, could be a big reason to get an Apple Music subscription.
I've been listening to My New Music Mix since the iOS 10 beta last September, and I gotta say it's impressive. I've found new songs, entire albums, and artists on a really consistent basis that have all become mainstays in my main playlists.

On the other hand, My Favorites Mix is hilariously inconsistent for me. Like, I listened to "Can't Stop The Feeling!" once or twice, and it's appeared in Favorites multiple times throughout the year.
Score: 5 Votes (Like | Disagree)
surfingarbo Avatar
92 months ago
Listening to this playlist now, drinking coffee at a campsite in the mountains by myself. This couldn't get more chill if it tried!
Score: 4 Votes (Like | Disagree)
5105973 Avatar
92 months ago
I usually find new artists when I'm out and about and a song will catch my attention and I Shazam it. lol, a few times I tracked down the artists (like Lucius) whose work was used in ads for Samsung phones and I downloaded the song used to advertise the Pixel phone. :p

I guess I'll try this new feature but I don't really like to be spoon fed songs that the labels are desperate to sell to me. I'd rather actively go hunting for something that catches my ear in a quirky setting.

Google Music has been pretty good at unobtrusively suggesting playlists based on different songs I chose to play. I like that their choices aren't necessarily all big names and heavily hyped groups. Sometimes I feel Apple Music is all about what Jimmy Iovine wants to push.
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)
surfingarbo Avatar
92 months ago
Despite my using it daily, Apple Music has no effing idea what kind of music I like.
Instead of liking individual tracks, try setting up a smart playlist on iTunes. Let the filter say "if I've listened to a song more than, say 10 times, "love" the song on Apple Music. Doing so could teach Apple Music 1,000's of songs you actually do like. That may help with future suggestions of what you do like.
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)