The Pangu development team today updated its jailbreak for iOS 7.1.x bringing support for the English language and OS X systems, as well as a fix for a bug that caused boot loops on iOS devices.

pangu_jailbreak_ios71x
The jailbreak was originally released last week and marked the first time that users were able to deploy an untethered jailbreak on any device running iOS 7.1.1 and below. However, the release was only available for Windows systems and contained an option to install "25PP", which is a third party app store for Chinese users. Pangu's newest release now disables installation of 25PP for English users by default.

Pangu's jailbreak tool follows an updated version of the popular Evasi0n jailbreak that was released last year for iOS 7.0 to iOS 7.0.4. However, Evasi0n was also the subject of controversy after Cydia administrator Jay Freeman revealed that evasi0n did not include an official version of Cydia and installed a third party app store called Taig for Chinese users. In response to Freeman's statement, the evad3rs development team announced the removal of the Taig app store from the jailbreak and apologized for the issues caused by its inclusion.

The updated Pangu jailbreak for iOS 7.1.x can be downloaded directly from the project's official website.

Top Rated Comments

Anonymous Freak Avatar
131 months ago
Is there aomething to complain and waste time typing about now?

I don't know, is there?

You came to this thread, about something that apparently has no interest to you, to complain about this story's existence, stating that you have no idea why jailbreaking happens, then immediately negating your own opinion by saying you have never done it.

I responded to your implied question.

If I'm at a bar, and I overhear a conversation about motorcycles, I don't walk over and go "I don't know why anyone would ride a motorcycle, it seems unsafe! But I've never ridden one." then complain when they actually reply. If you don't want a reply, then don't post. If you don't want to read about jailbreaking, then skip the stories on it.

Like it or not, to many iOS device users, a new jailbreak is news, thus it is worthy to report on on a website dedicated to news about Apple devices.
Score: 12 Votes (Like | Disagree)
CrazyForApple Avatar
131 months ago
To me, i don't find jailbreaking is proper news to be on here. I think that because jailbreaking a phone doesn't seem right to me. That is just my opinion and maybe if I tried jailbreaking, it might justify my answer. But I don't think this should be on MacRumors
Score: 10 Votes (Like | Disagree)
ourmountain Avatar
131 months ago
To me, i don't find jailbreaking is proper news to be on here. I think that because jailbreaking a phone doesn't seem tight to me. That is just my opinion and maybe if I tried jailbreaking, it might justify my answer. But I don't think this should be on MacRumors

I'll assume you meant "right", not "tight".

What about it isn't right? Did you not purchase your device? Did you not pay for it? Why exactly is it "not right" for someone to have full access to something that they own?

The equivalent is that you buy a house, and the seller says "Look, I know you bought this house. But these two rooms are off limits. Im locking them up tight."

Does that sound right to you? Because that's essentially what you're arguing is "right".
Score: 8 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Parasprite Avatar
131 months ago
To me, i don't find jailbreaking is proper news to be on here. I think that because jailbreaking a phone doesn't seem right to me. That is just my opinion and maybe if I tried jailbreaking, it might justify my answer. But I don't think this should be on MacRumors

We have a Jailbreaks section on MR forums you know.
Score: 7 Votes (Like | Disagree)
allthatjazz Avatar
131 months ago
After last jailbreak causing my iPhone 5 run like crap, I'm done with jailbreak: the benefit doesn't worth the risk.
Don't knock the jb.. blame the junk that you installed. :rolleyes:
Score: 6 Votes (Like | Disagree)
HappyDude20 Avatar
131 months ago
To me, i don't find jailbreaking is proper news to be on here. I think that because jailbreaking a phone doesn't seem tight to me. That is just my opinion and maybe if I tried jailbreaking, it might justify my answer. But I don't think this should be on MacRumors

Considering you've never jailbroken your phone, you therefore realistically aren't aware of the value a jailbroken phone provides.

I feel jail break news to be of the utmost relevance on a website such as this. If say Apple.com had info on jail breaking, then I'd be a bit suspicious.
Score: 6 Votes (Like | Disagree)

Popular Stories

iPhone SE 4 Vertical Camera Feature

iPhone SE 4 Rumored to Use Same Rear Chassis as iPhone 16

Friday July 19, 2024 7:16 am PDT by
Apple will adopt the same rear chassis manufacturing process for the iPhone SE 4 that it is using for the upcoming standard iPhone 16, claims a new rumor coming out of China. According to the Weibo-based leaker "Fixed Focus Digital," the backplate manufacturing process for the iPhone SE 4 is "exactly the same" as the standard model in Apple's upcoming iPhone 16 lineup, which is expected to...
iPhone 16 Pro Sizes Feature

iPhone 16 Series Is Just Two Months Away: Everything We Know

Monday July 15, 2024 4:44 am PDT by
Apple typically releases its new iPhone series around mid-September, which means we are about two months out from the launch of the iPhone 16. Like the iPhone 15 series, this year's lineup is expected to stick with four models – iPhone 16, iPhone 16 Plus, iPhone 16 Pro, and iPhone 16 Pro Max – although there are plenty of design differences and new features to take into account. To bring ...
bsod

Crowdstrike Says Global IT Outage Impacting Windows PCs, But Mac and Linux Hosts Not Affected

Friday July 19, 2024 3:12 am PDT by
A widespread system failure is currently affecting numerous Windows devices globally, causing critical boot failures across various industries, including banks, rail networks, airlines, retailers, broadcasters, healthcare, and many more sectors. The issue, manifesting as a Blue Screen of Death (BSOD), is preventing computers from starting up properly and forcing them into continuous recovery...
iphone 14 lineup

Cellebrite Unable to Unlock iPhones on iOS 17.4 or Later, Leak Reveals

Thursday July 18, 2024 4:18 am PDT by
Israel-based mobile forensics company Cellebrite is unable to unlock iPhones running iOS 17.4 or later, according to leaked documents verified by 404 Media. The documents provide a rare glimpse into the capabilities of the company's mobile forensics tools and highlight the ongoing security improvements in Apple's latest devices. The leaked "Cellebrite iOS Support Matrix" obtained by 404 Media...
Apple Watch Series 9

2024 Apple Watch Lineup: Key Changes We're Expecting

Tuesday July 16, 2024 7:59 am PDT by
Apple is seemingly planning a rework of the Apple Watch lineup for 2024, according to a range of reports from over the past year. Here's everything we know so far. Apple is expected to continue to offer three different Apple Watch models in five casing sizes, but the various display sizes will allegedly grow by up to 12% and the casings will get taller. Based on all of the latest rumors,...
tinypod apple watch

TinyPod Turns Your Apple Watch Into an iPod

Wednesday July 17, 2024 3:18 pm PDT by
If you have an old Apple Watch and you're not sure what to do with it, a new product called TinyPod might be the answer. Priced at $79, the TinyPod is a silicone case with a built-in scroll wheel that houses the Apple Watch chassis. When an Apple Watch is placed inside the TinyPod, the click wheel on the case is able to be used to scroll through the Apple Watch interface. The feature works...