Yesterday, Apple began offering refurbished models of the current 27-inch iMac in its online store for the first time, and while two of the three available models quickly sold out, the company is clearly working to expand availability by adding not only another 27-inch configuration but also a pair of 21.5-inch models today. The newly listed models, all of which ship in 1-5 business days, include:

- 21.5-inch iMac 2.7GHz quad-core Intel Core i5 with 8 GB RAM, 1 TB hard drive, and Intel Iris Pro graphics: $1099 ($200 savings)

late_2013_21_imac_refurb
- 21.5-inch iMac 2.9GHz quad-core Intel Core i5 with 8 GB RAM, 1 TB hard drive, and NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M: $1269 ($230 savings)

- 27-inch iMac 3.4GHz quad-core Intel Core i5 with 8 GB RAM, 1 TB hard drive, and NVIDIA GeForce GTX 775M graphics: $1699 ($300 savings)

Related Roundup: iMac
Buyer's Guide: iMac (Neutral)
Related Forum: iMac

Top Rated Comments

bpcookson Avatar
139 months ago
Quad-core i7 or BUST!
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Glassed Silver Avatar
139 months ago
Me too. I am in the market for one and when I found out there was no dvd drive, I literally stopped in shock. It's supposed to be an all in one.

Get a 27"er, fully maxed out, slap in an SSD and buy yourself enough RAM.
You won't regret it.

I have a fully specced out (just HDD though... YET) one and I'm damn happy.
This thing is still a beast and the DVD drive is there.

I know Apple thinks that what they did with the floppy drive is true again nowadays, but I for one do need it, so they can have this fancy idea of moving forward all they want, I need the drive and I hate clutter on my desk.

I was so damn lucky I got my new iMac model in the year 2011 and I was positively surprised that even in 2012 and 2013 my model still looks damn nice. (the choice of model I mean)

iTunes movies are too expensive here.
As are TV shows on iTunes.
Also you don't get to "own" them. You just license them with crappy DRM tacked on it.
The movie/tv show industry needs to take a lesson from the music industry, but it seems they haven't suffered enough yet. DRM is on a surge, games are no better.
When I buy games for Windows, granted it's often a Steam sale, but I fancy my PS3 DRM-free ones way more.
I'm a collector, so the physical disc I'll always get, PC Steam versions are good for eventually getting my Youtube gaming channel going etc...

Wow, sorry for the long post.

Glassed Silver:mac
Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)
citi Avatar
139 months ago

And I like my Quad, too. 2011 tech, but imho it might be a bit older than current models, but I get so many benefits with it. A DVD drive that doesn't have to sit on my desk separately being one of them. I don't fancy clutter.

Glassed Silver:mac

Me too. I am in the market for one and when I found out there was no dvd drive, I literally stopped in shock. It's supposed to be an all in one.
Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Glassed Silver Avatar
139 months ago
LOL i do like me a good i7 quad, but not everyone needs it :D

To be fair he did not state that. :)

And I like my Quad, too. 2011 tech, but imho it might be a bit older than current models, but I get so many benefits with it. A DVD drive that doesn't have to sit on my desk separately being one of them. I don't fancy clutter.

Glassed Silver:mac
Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)

Popular Stories

iPhone SE 4 Vertical Camera Feature

iPhone SE 4 Rumored to Use Same Rear Chassis as iPhone 16

Friday July 19, 2024 7:16 am PDT by
Apple will adopt the same rear chassis manufacturing process for the iPhone SE 4 that it is using for the upcoming standard iPhone 16, claims a new rumor coming out of China. According to the Weibo-based leaker "Fixed Focus Digital," the backplate manufacturing process for the iPhone SE 4 is "exactly the same" as the standard model in Apple's upcoming iPhone 16 lineup, which is expected to...
iPhone 17 Plus Feature

iPhone 17 Lineup Specs Detail Display Upgrade and New High-End Model

Monday July 22, 2024 4:33 am PDT by
Key details about the overall specifications of the iPhone 17 lineup have been shared by the leaker known as "Ice Universe," clarifying several important aspects of next year's devices. Reports in recent months have converged in agreement that Apple will discontinue the "Plus" iPhone model in 2025 while introducing an all-new iPhone 17 "Slim" model as an even more high-end option sitting...
iPhone 16 Pro Sizes Feature

iPhone 16 Series Is Just Two Months Away: Everything We Know

Monday July 15, 2024 4:44 am PDT by
Apple typically releases its new iPhone series around mid-September, which means we are about two months out from the launch of the iPhone 16. Like the iPhone 15 series, this year's lineup is expected to stick with four models – iPhone 16, iPhone 16 Plus, iPhone 16 Pro, and iPhone 16 Pro Max – although there are plenty of design differences and new features to take into account. To bring ...
Apple TV Plus Feature 2 Magenta and Blue

Apple TV+ Curbs Costs After Expensive Projects Fail to Capture Viewers

Monday July 22, 2024 5:11 am PDT by
Apple is scaling back its Hollywood spending after investing over $20 billion in original programming with limited success, Bloomberg reports. This shift comes after the streaming service, which launched in 2019, struggled to capture a significant share of the market, accounting for only 0.2% of TV viewership in the U.S., compared to Netflix's 8%. Despite heavy investment, critical acclaim,...
bsod

Microsoft Blames European Commission for Major Worldwide Outage

Monday July 22, 2024 11:55 am PDT by
Last Friday, a major CrowdStrike outage impacted PCs running Microsoft Windows, causing worldwide issues affecting airlines, retailers, banks, hospitals, rail networks, and more. Computers were stuck in continuous recovery loops, rendering them unusable. The failure was caused by an update to the CrowdStrike Falcon antivirus software that auto-installed on Windows 10 PCs, but Mac and Linux...