Set-top device maker TiVo has updated its official iOS app today, bringing new features such as out of home streaming and downloading of content from the company's new Roamio Plus and Roamio Pro DVR boxes. The out of home streaming feature requires a Wi-Fi signal and allows users to watch live or recorded TV shows, while the out of home downloading capability enables users to download content from TiVo to their iOS devices.

tivo_ios

What's New in Version 3.2
- Out of Home Streaming: Roamio Plus and Roamio Pro owners can watch live or recorded shows remotely anywhere you have Wi-Fi. Coming soon to TiVo Stream users.
- Out of Home Downloading: Roamio Plus and Roamio Pro owners download content to enjoy anywhere so that low bandwidth or lack of a Wi-Fi connection never slows you down. Coming soon to TiVo Stream users.
- General improvements to Stream Setup: auto-retry for streaming set-up
- Download Manager Improvements
- General Bug Fixing

The TiVo Roamio Plus and TiVo Roamio Pro retail for $399.99 and $599.99 respectively, and can be purchased through the official TiVo Website. TiVo is a free app for iOS devices and can be downloaded through the App Store. [Direct Link]

Top Rated Comments

portishead Avatar
140 months ago
TiVo is still relevant these days?

Spoken like someone who's never used a TiVo. It certainly has it's issues but it's still the best DVR on the market, and it's still cheaper getting a TiVo with lifetime than it is to pay the cable man every month.
Score: 4 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Jacquesass Avatar
140 months ago
I recently picked up a Roamio Pro (although if I were to do it now, I would probably pick up an upgraded 4TB Roamio Plus from Weaknees.com). I have Comcast, and a big motivator was my desire to get as much Comcast equipment out of my house as possible. When I upgraded (from an older TiVo HD), I also bought two Tivo mini's for other rooms in the house.

The whole system works VERY well. 6 tuners on the Roamio Pro, all of which are available in rooms with the mini's - and on my iPad/iPhone anywhere in the house. This update now extends that (recordings and live TV) streaming to my iPad/iPhone to any WiFi network (i.e., work) - with next year's update including streaming it anywhere I can get 4G. I can also tell TiVo to record any show from anywhere I have internet access. As icing, you can search by show/actor/subject and find shows across services (upcoming broadcast, Netflix, Hulu, Amazon, etc.).

I love my AppleTV's, but the new TiVo's are by far the best way to enjoy your cable subscription.
Score: 3 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Combchris Avatar
140 months ago
Tivo has changed a lot. When tivo released the first dvr I had one for about a year or so then just went with Verizon's dvr for like 4 years or so, but with the release of romio I came back and I'm glad I did. Yes tivo is still Relevant. It actually works great I am so glad I went back. It intergrates my hulu and netflix accounts so if there is a show I like it will show me that the show is available in those services and I can watch whatever I want without turning on the Apple TV. The space is amazing I have been using it for 3 months never deleted anything and the storage is still not full. It is also so much quicker than my card dvr which is important and has Small features that are important like pressing a button on the box to find the remote, suggestions, and switching between tv and online services. The iphone app never crashes like my cables dvr app and when I am not home it works 100% to record shows so they are there when I get home.
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Johnf1285 Avatar
140 months ago
TiVo is still relevant these days?
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)
firedownunder Avatar
140 months ago
I understand where you're coming from, but the jump from an S3 to a Roamio is huge - very large jump in processing power, Stream built-in, MOCA built-in, new underlying OS, 6 tuners.

I can't comment on how it compares to the Hopper, but after having a "discussion" with DirecTV about how the $500 I spent on a DVR at Best Buy was just a "lease" and that I couldn't give it to my brother - a multi-year DTV customer - but had to send it in or get charged almost $1k ... I swore to have as little equipment from the cableco in my house as possible. With the Roamio + minis + my own cable modem, the only thing Comcast has in my house is a single cablecard.
Agree 1000%. Longtime DTV subscriber (Sunday ticket), tried to double charge me and wouldn't fix it so I told them to shove it. Got a Premier 4 and a Bright House cable card, short of being free couldn't be happier. As long as there's sports cable/satellite companies will rule, doesn't mean I have to "lease" their crappy outdated equipment. Bill is reduced by a third (with a better sports pack) and my dvr is infinitely more functional. And if I decide to upgrade I can sell "my" box.
Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)

Popular Stories

iPhone SE 4 Vertical Camera Feature

iPhone SE 4 Rumored to Use Same Rear Chassis as iPhone 16

Friday July 19, 2024 7:16 am PDT by
Apple will adopt the same rear chassis manufacturing process for the iPhone SE 4 that it is using for the upcoming standard iPhone 16, claims a new rumor coming out of China. According to the Weibo-based leaker "Fixed Focus Digital," the backplate manufacturing process for the iPhone SE 4 is "exactly the same" as the standard model in Apple's upcoming iPhone 16 lineup, which is expected to...
iPhone 16 Pro Sizes Feature

iPhone 16 Series Is Just Two Months Away: Everything We Know

Monday July 15, 2024 4:44 am PDT by
Apple typically releases its new iPhone series around mid-September, which means we are about two months out from the launch of the iPhone 16. Like the iPhone 15 series, this year's lineup is expected to stick with four models – iPhone 16, iPhone 16 Plus, iPhone 16 Pro, and iPhone 16 Pro Max – although there are plenty of design differences and new features to take into account. To bring ...
iphone 14 lineup

Cellebrite Unable to Unlock iPhones on iOS 17.4 or Later, Leak Reveals

Thursday July 18, 2024 4:18 am PDT by
Israel-based mobile forensics company Cellebrite is unable to unlock iPhones running iOS 17.4 or later, according to leaked documents verified by 404 Media. The documents provide a rare glimpse into the capabilities of the company's mobile forensics tools and highlight the ongoing security improvements in Apple's latest devices. The leaked "Cellebrite iOS Support Matrix" obtained by 404 Media...
tinypod apple watch

TinyPod Turns Your Apple Watch Into an iPod

Wednesday July 17, 2024 3:18 pm PDT by
If you have an old Apple Watch and you're not sure what to do with it, a new product called TinyPod might be the answer. Priced at $79, the TinyPod is a silicone case with a built-in scroll wheel that houses the Apple Watch chassis. When an Apple Watch is placed inside the TinyPod, the click wheel on the case is able to be used to scroll through the Apple Watch interface. The feature works...
bsod

Crowdstrike Says Global IT Outage Impacting Windows PCs, But Mac and Linux Hosts Not Affected

Friday July 19, 2024 3:12 am PDT by
A widespread system failure is currently affecting numerous Windows devices globally, causing critical boot failures across various industries, including banks, rail networks, airlines, retailers, broadcasters, healthcare, and many more sectors. The issue, manifesting as a Blue Screen of Death (BSOD), is preventing computers from starting up properly and forcing them into continuous recovery...
New MacBook Pros Launching Tomorrow With These 4 New Features 2

M5 MacBook Models to Use New Compact Camera Module in 2025

Wednesday July 17, 2024 2:58 am PDT by
Apple in 2025 will take on a new compact camera module (CCM) supplier for future MacBook models powered by its next-generation M5 chip, according to Apple analyst Ming-Chi Kuo. Writing in his latest investor note on unny-opticals-2025-business-momentum-to-benefit-509819818c2a">Medium, Kuo said Apple will turn to Sunny Optical for the CCM in its M5 MacBooks. The Chinese optical lens company...