After developer AgileBits released details on 1Password 4 in August, the company has now released the new version of its popular password managing software for the Mac. Specifically, 1Password has been completely redesigned for OS X and promises compatibility with the upcoming OS X Mavericks, along with features such as iCloud syncing for passwords in addition to Dropbox and Wi-Fi Sync access and multiple password vault support featuring AES-256 encryption. The update also includes rewritten browser extensions and new fields for additional categories such as loyalty programs.

1password4_1

Keeping you safe. 1Password has been protecting people for nearly a decade. 1Password 4 builds upon this rich history to bring you the best possible security with unmatched productivity.

Security made beautiful. 1Password 4 has been re-written from pixel to bit to give you the best possible experience wrapped in a gorgeous new UI.

Saving you time. 1Password makes it simple to use strong unique passwords. Being secure with 1Password is easier than being at risk using weak ones you have to remember and type manually.

1Password 4 also offers a new "Security Audit" section in the main sidebar, allowing users to easily which logins are currently weak passwords, as well as which passwords are used across multiple sites or have not been changed in a significant period of time.

1password4_2
1Password 4 is a $39.99 download and is avaliable on the Mac App Store. [Direct Link]

Top Rated Comments

theRevIsNotDead Avatar
141 months ago
Has anyone used both 1Password and Last Pass? Any preference?
I've used both. My STRONG preference is for 1Password. It's amazing, and an absolute must-have Mac app.

Now, if you need something more cross-platform and less expensive, Last Pass is decent.
Score: 6 Votes (Like | Disagree)
AGKyle Avatar
141 months ago
I have been a user of 1Password for many years... iMac, MBA, iPad, iPhone, Win 7/Parallels, Win 7. I have had had both family plans (from the Agile website) and MAS plans.

Personally, even though I already owned 1Password 3... I purchased the MAS version of 1Password 3 last Thanksgiving when the had a sale. I did this because they announced that the upgrade to 1Password 4 would be free. Personally... I have a strong preference for MAS distribution because the update process happens asynchronously rather than at program launch.

BY FAR... the single greatest thing that I love about 1Password is their customer support. When I had problems with syncing my single 1P vault between 3 different users (my personal account, my wife's account, and my personal work account)... on many different computers... including several computers that had all three login accounts... a quick note to Kyle had me flooded with information on how to solve my issue... including deep help from the full customer support team. Having someone like Kyle being available just a quick PM away on MacRumors... coupled with his responsiveness and true desire to help has won me over as a customer for life (or at least until Kyle quits).

/Jim

Hey Jim!

It's fantastic to hear from you again :)

From the bottom of my heart. Thank you for this. I can't really express how much it meant to read this. Honestly, a little teary eyed here. Thank you...

If there's anyone to thank here I think it's the founders of AgileBits for founding a company that puts the power to do what is right for the customers in the hands of the customer support team. We believe in 1Password and we honestly want our users to be happy with it. It's much more fun to be able to make someone happy than to make them upset.

If anyone here is having trouble, let me know, you're free to ask for me in a support email if you want. I don't give up on the hard problems, we'll get it worked out.
Score: 3 Votes (Like | Disagree)
flynz4 Avatar
141 months ago
My pleasure! :)
I have been a user of 1Password for many years... iMac, MBA, iPad, iPhone, Win 7/Parallels, Win 7. I have had had both family plans (from the Agile website) and MAS plans.

Personally, even though I already owned 1Password 3... I purchased the MAS version of 1Password 3 last Thanksgiving when the had a sale. I did this because they announced that the upgrade to 1Password 4 would be free. Personally... I have a strong preference for MAS distribution because the update process happens asynchronously rather than at program launch.

BY FAR... the single greatest thing that I love about 1Password is their customer support. When I had problems with syncing my single 1P vault between 3 different users (my personal account, my wife's account, and my personal work account)... on many different computers... including several computers that had all three login accounts... a quick note to Kyle had me flooded with information on how to solve my issue... including deep help from the full customer support team. Having someone like Kyle being available just a quick PM away on MacRumors... coupled with his responsiveness and true desire to help has won me over as a customer for life (or at least until Kyle quits).

/Jim
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)
trainwrecka Avatar
141 months ago
I would think Apple has big plans for the fingerprint scanner and the password manager coming with Mavericks+iOS7. I've got 1Password, but would rather have it built-in to my iDevice than having to do everything in the app.
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)
GoCubsGo Avatar
141 months ago
Is this a free upgrade for those who already purchased? I have the Mac, Windows, and iOS Version, I really hope I don't have to pay (again) to upgrade each one!

In my experience and as a user since beta, I have had to pay for every major update (1, 2, 3, etc).
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)
balamw Avatar
141 months ago
Doesn't seem to be available yet for those of us who purchased earlier versions outside MAS.

I have family licenses for both Mac and Windows plus iOS and would love to be able to upgrade!

B
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)

Popular Stories

iPhone SE 4 Vertical Camera Feature

iPhone SE 4 Rumored to Use Same Rear Chassis as iPhone 16

Friday July 19, 2024 7:16 am PDT by
Apple will adopt the same rear chassis manufacturing process for the iPhone SE 4 that it is using for the upcoming standard iPhone 16, claims a new rumor coming out of China. According to the Weibo-based leaker "Fixed Focus Digital," the backplate manufacturing process for the iPhone SE 4 is "exactly the same" as the standard model in Apple's upcoming iPhone 16 lineup, which is expected to...
iPhone 16 Pro Sizes Feature

iPhone 16 Series Is Just Two Months Away: Everything We Know

Monday July 15, 2024 4:44 am PDT by
Apple typically releases its new iPhone series around mid-September, which means we are about two months out from the launch of the iPhone 16. Like the iPhone 15 series, this year's lineup is expected to stick with four models – iPhone 16, iPhone 16 Plus, iPhone 16 Pro, and iPhone 16 Pro Max – although there are plenty of design differences and new features to take into account. To bring ...
bsod

Crowdstrike Says Global IT Outage Impacting Windows PCs, But Mac and Linux Hosts Not Affected

Friday July 19, 2024 3:12 am PDT by
A widespread system failure is currently affecting numerous Windows devices globally, causing critical boot failures across various industries, including banks, rail networks, airlines, retailers, broadcasters, healthcare, and many more sectors. The issue, manifesting as a Blue Screen of Death (BSOD), is preventing computers from starting up properly and forcing them into continuous recovery...
iphone 14 lineup

Cellebrite Unable to Unlock iPhones on iOS 17.4 or Later, Leak Reveals

Thursday July 18, 2024 4:18 am PDT by
Israel-based mobile forensics company Cellebrite is unable to unlock iPhones running iOS 17.4 or later, according to leaked documents verified by 404 Media. The documents provide a rare glimpse into the capabilities of the company's mobile forensics tools and highlight the ongoing security improvements in Apple's latest devices. The leaked "Cellebrite iOS Support Matrix" obtained by 404 Media...
Apple Watch Series 9

2024 Apple Watch Lineup: Key Changes We're Expecting

Tuesday July 16, 2024 7:59 am PDT by
Apple is seemingly planning a rework of the Apple Watch lineup for 2024, according to a range of reports from over the past year. Here's everything we know so far. Apple is expected to continue to offer three different Apple Watch models in five casing sizes, but the various display sizes will allegedly grow by up to 12% and the casings will get taller. Based on all of the latest rumors,...
tinypod apple watch

TinyPod Turns Your Apple Watch Into an iPod

Wednesday July 17, 2024 3:18 pm PDT by
If you have an old Apple Watch and you're not sure what to do with it, a new product called TinyPod might be the answer. Priced at $79, the TinyPod is a silicone case with a built-in scroll wheel that houses the Apple Watch chassis. When an Apple Watch is placed inside the TinyPod, the click wheel on the case is able to be used to scroll through the Apple Watch interface. The feature works...