Top Rated Comments

reden Avatar
160 months ago
Where's that one guy that creates an App that links all these cloud drives into one, so you can have 100GB of free storage with like 10 accounts from different companies.
Score: 6 Votes (Like | Disagree)
Tinmania Avatar
160 months ago
I agree. It's not really integrated that well. It seems like a band-aid until they come up with something better. Wish it was good - I have 20 gigs free on there.

It's really useless until they release an iOS app.
I too have 20 gigs from Amazon. I had forgotten about it.

But I saw the headline of this article with the word FINDER in it and ran and downloaded the app. Much to my surprise it was not what I was expecting.

To me being able to access "from finder" means that I can open finder and, well, access it.



Michael
Score: 4 Votes (Like | Disagree)
ToeNhi Avatar
160 months ago
First Impression

Hello,

I'm new posting, but have been a reader of this forum for a while. I just downloaded the Amazon Cloud app. I also have Dropbox, and it looks like I will be keeping it for now. I like the way Dropbox places a folder in my Finder and Windows Explorer. Amazon's app does not seem to do that. It places an icon on the menu bar that I can drop dragged files to, but it just doesn't seen as integrated as Dropbox. I also don't like using my Amazon password to log into Amazon Cloud.

Well, now that Apple is getting rid of my iDisk, I hope they adopt Dropbox's approach to storage. When iDisk goes away, I won't be able to use iCloud to store anything but Apple data.

Anyway, I may not uninstall Amazon Cloud, but I won't be using it until Amazon makes it more user accessible.

Tony
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)
gmccj Avatar
160 months ago
SMEStorage

Where's that one guy that creates an App that links all these cloud drives into one, so you can have 100GB of free storage with like 10 accounts from different companies.

Have a look at this: http://smestorage.com/wiki/maccloudtools/
Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)
DrMotownMac Avatar
160 months ago
Where's that one guy that creates an App that links all these cloud drives into one, so you can have 100GB of free storage with like 10 accounts from different companies.

That's EXACTLY what I was thinking! How does one decide which of these small free cloud drives to use? Or, do you set up free accounts on all of them, and use each one for different stuff? Well, that can get confusing very quickly. I'm always tempted to pay to upgrade my Dropbox to 50 GB or 100 GB, but I absolutely hate the idea of paying $100-$200 per year when I can get close to 50 GB of storage if I just combine a whole bunch of free cloud drive services.

If any of you out there are programmers looking to make a fast buck, here's your window of opportunity! Sell a $5 to $10 app which gives you a single folder on your hard drive which uses the free space from all of the cloud drive services out there, essentially consolidating all cloud drives into one! Shouldn't there be a way to do that?
Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)
bse3 Avatar
160 months ago
I wonder why everyone is so eager to copy Dropbox now, are they making serious money or something? Oh well, I'll stay with Derpbox for the time being, given that I have `earned' 11 gb of free space, and all my friends use this instead of the newcomers.
Score: 0 Votes (Like | Disagree)

Popular Stories

iPhone SE 4 Vertical Camera Feature

iPhone SE 4 Rumored to Use Same Rear Chassis as iPhone 16

Friday July 19, 2024 7:16 am PDT by
Apple will adopt the same rear chassis manufacturing process for the iPhone SE 4 that it is using for the upcoming standard iPhone 16, claims a new rumor coming out of China. According to the Weibo-based leaker "Fixed Focus Digital," the backplate manufacturing process for the iPhone SE 4 is "exactly the same" as the standard model in Apple's upcoming iPhone 16 lineup, which is expected to...
iPhone 16 Pro Sizes Feature

iPhone 16 Series Is Just Two Months Away: Everything We Know

Monday July 15, 2024 4:44 am PDT by
Apple typically releases its new iPhone series around mid-September, which means we are about two months out from the launch of the iPhone 16. Like the iPhone 15 series, this year's lineup is expected to stick with four models – iPhone 16, iPhone 16 Plus, iPhone 16 Pro, and iPhone 16 Pro Max – although there are plenty of design differences and new features to take into account. To bring ...
bsod

Crowdstrike Says Global IT Outage Impacting Windows PCs, But Mac and Linux Hosts Not Affected

Friday July 19, 2024 3:12 am PDT by
A widespread system failure is currently affecting numerous Windows devices globally, causing critical boot failures across various industries, including banks, rail networks, airlines, retailers, broadcasters, healthcare, and many more sectors. The issue, manifesting as a Blue Screen of Death (BSOD), is preventing computers from starting up properly and forcing them into continuous recovery...
iphone 14 lineup

Cellebrite Unable to Unlock iPhones on iOS 17.4 or Later, Leak Reveals

Thursday July 18, 2024 4:18 am PDT by
Israel-based mobile forensics company Cellebrite is unable to unlock iPhones running iOS 17.4 or later, according to leaked documents verified by 404 Media. The documents provide a rare glimpse into the capabilities of the company's mobile forensics tools and highlight the ongoing security improvements in Apple's latest devices. The leaked "Cellebrite iOS Support Matrix" obtained by 404 Media...
Apple Watch Series 9

2024 Apple Watch Lineup: Key Changes We're Expecting

Tuesday July 16, 2024 7:59 am PDT by
Apple is seemingly planning a rework of the Apple Watch lineup for 2024, according to a range of reports from over the past year. Here's everything we know so far. Apple is expected to continue to offer three different Apple Watch models in five casing sizes, but the various display sizes will allegedly grow by up to 12% and the casings will get taller. Based on all of the latest rumors,...
tinypod apple watch

TinyPod Turns Your Apple Watch Into an iPod

Wednesday July 17, 2024 3:18 pm PDT by
If you have an old Apple Watch and you're not sure what to do with it, a new product called TinyPod might be the answer. Priced at $79, the TinyPod is a silicone case with a built-in scroll wheel that houses the Apple Watch chassis. When an Apple Watch is placed inside the TinyPod, the click wheel on the case is able to be used to scroll through the Apple Watch interface. The feature works...