iPhone Night: Katie's Experience

cashiphone 500

June 29: iPhone Night.

This morning, I had to get to work at 11 am. I work at a toy store and although a somewhat steady stream of customers came in, it felt like an eternity before my coworker arrived to cover for me. She walked in the door at 3:45 and I bolted! I was out of my Learning Express apron, had my purse in hand and in the car by 3:46.

I wanted to wear something other than my work uniform to the launch, so I changed in the car; not an easy feat if you're 5'8" and drive a Hyundai Accent. I got changed and had to high-tail it to the bank to pull out money with which to buy the phone. I popped out of my car, ran into the WaMu, and left with an obscene amount of cash. I'd never been so nervous in my life. (I'm always convinced I'll get mugged by everyone.)

I jump in the car, find my way to Westheimer and cursing everyone who was doing the speed limit along the way. I get to the parking garage at about 4 pm. I ran to the Apple Store through the crowded mall. A few people hypothesized why I was running with such haste: "Nerd must want that Apple Phone!"I finally got in line a little after 4 PM. I was number 126. I passed the time with a fellow nerd in line. (Hi, Henry!!!)

We finally got in the store around 6:30 or so; the staff really rushed people outta there!

My buying experience was less than stellar. I was paying with cash, as my credit card limit is only $1500 a month, and a girls gotta have her credit card available to her! Since the Houston Galleria Apple store is a v2.0 interior, theres about a dozen clerks with credit card handsets and a single cash drawer.

One.

I was put in a line behind 5 teenage boys. If I were single, Id get super-excited and start preening, but I dont think my boyfriend would quite appreciate that. ;) There was one girl working the cash register and she took forever to count out change. I was in the secondary cash-line for about 45 minutes, while dozens and dozens of people whizzed by me, buying all my iPhones! Nooo!!

Luckily, I got to buy an 8 gig iPhone; they hadnt sold out. I gave the nice girl seven crisp $100-bills and walked to the accessory wall.

I picked up a few accessories. The SkinTight case from Speck, the Crystal Film Set from Power Support, and an iTunes card because I should probably buy a movie and watch it on the iPhone to get a feel for the screen. Ill post full reviews of the cases and the film later. Am I right in guessing that we dont need a review of the iTunes gift card? ? If I wanted to pay cash for the accessories, I wouldve had to wait in that cursed line AGAIN, so I just charged it with a nice young man with his remote control credit card machine.
I got my goodies and was on my way in a matter of seconds. Yay!

I sped home, going a little a lot over the speed limit, carefully tore open the box and took pics as I went along. Enjoy the unboxing! (after the jump)

And is there anything yall want to see tomorrow? Leave it in the comments! :)

And the Gallery:

IMG 6646 300 IMG 6648 300 IMG 6655 300 IMG 6658 300 IMG 6663 300 IMG 6664 300 IMG 6666 300 IMG 6668 300 IMG 6669 300

Good-bye cruddy Motoroloa L6 I've had for a month and a half; hello, iPhone!

Related Forum: iPhone

Popular Stories

iPhone SE 4 Vertical Camera Feature

iPhone SE 4 Rumored to Use Same Rear Chassis as iPhone 16

Friday July 19, 2024 7:16 am PDT by
Apple will adopt the same rear chassis manufacturing process for the iPhone SE 4 that it is using for the upcoming standard iPhone 16, claims a new rumor coming out of China. According to the Weibo-based leaker "Fixed Focus Digital," the backplate manufacturing process for the iPhone SE 4 is "exactly the same" as the standard model in Apple's upcoming iPhone 16 lineup, which is expected to...
iPhone 16 Pro Sizes Feature

iPhone 16 Series Is Just Two Months Away: Everything We Know

Monday July 15, 2024 4:44 am PDT by
Apple typically releases its new iPhone series around mid-September, which means we are about two months out from the launch of the iPhone 16. Like the iPhone 15 series, this year's lineup is expected to stick with four models – iPhone 16, iPhone 16 Plus, iPhone 16 Pro, and iPhone 16 Pro Max – although there are plenty of design differences and new features to take into account. To bring ...
iphone 14 lineup

Cellebrite Unable to Unlock iPhones on iOS 17.4 or Later, Leak Reveals

Thursday July 18, 2024 4:18 am PDT by
Israel-based mobile forensics company Cellebrite is unable to unlock iPhones running iOS 17.4 or later, according to leaked documents verified by 404 Media. The documents provide a rare glimpse into the capabilities of the company's mobile forensics tools and highlight the ongoing security improvements in Apple's latest devices. The leaked "Cellebrite iOS Support Matrix" obtained by 404 Media...
tinypod apple watch

TinyPod Turns Your Apple Watch Into an iPod

Wednesday July 17, 2024 3:18 pm PDT by
If you have an old Apple Watch and you're not sure what to do with it, a new product called TinyPod might be the answer. Priced at $79, the TinyPod is a silicone case with a built-in scroll wheel that houses the Apple Watch chassis. When an Apple Watch is placed inside the TinyPod, the click wheel on the case is able to be used to scroll through the Apple Watch interface. The feature works...
bsod

Crowdstrike Says Global IT Outage Impacting Windows PCs, But Mac and Linux Hosts Not Affected

Friday July 19, 2024 3:12 am PDT by
A widespread system failure is currently affecting numerous Windows devices globally, causing critical boot failures across various industries, including banks, rail networks, airlines, retailers, broadcasters, healthcare, and many more sectors. The issue, manifesting as a Blue Screen of Death (BSOD), is preventing computers from starting up properly and forcing them into continuous recovery...
Apple Watch Series 9

2024 Apple Watch Lineup: Key Changes We're Expecting

Tuesday July 16, 2024 7:59 am PDT by
Apple is seemingly planning a rework of the Apple Watch lineup for 2024, according to a range of reports from over the past year. Here's everything we know so far. Apple is expected to continue to offer three different Apple Watch models in five casing sizes, but the various display sizes will allegedly grow by up to 12% and the casings will get taller. Based on all of the latest rumors,...