Manuel Gomes’ Post

View profile for Manuel Gomes, graphic

BOOKS AND RARE COLLECTIBLES FOR ZEN MEDITATION, TRADITIONAL MARTIAL ARTS (KEN), AND JAPANESE CRAFTS (SHOKUNIN).

Hello everyone. I was thinking that I should give a short introduction for anyone that doesn't know me, what I've been up to and where I'm headed: I am a traditionally trained Shokunin (Japanese style craftsman) living in Los Banos, California. I have trained with Sensei Stephen Strouch from the Portland, Oregon Obukan (He was a founding member) in Shakuhachi crafting and Ono-ha Itto-ryu. I hand craft Shakuhachi Japanese flutes, Yokobue (another type of Japanese flute), traditional Budo-gu such as bokken, yumi, tonfa, nunchaku, etc, as well as, traditional Japanese furniture such as geta bako, chabudai, etc.  I began training in and crafting traditional handmade Japanese items in 1986 (specifically Shakuhachi, Yokobue and Budo-gu).  I have a Bachelor's in Cultural Anthropology (with an emphasis on Japan, Korea and China) from The Evergreen State College in Olympia, Washington.  I am an ordained Buddhist priest and a personal student of the founder of the international Mugendo Zenkai, Koro Kaisan Roshi. If you'd like me to make you something, let me know! My craft is an extension of my life's training and I would be honoured to craft you (or someone dear to you) something unique and special! In addition, I am a published author and my books can be found on Amazon: https://lnkd.in/gKs6j39G https://lnkd.in/gxQnZ-uY They make great gifts!

How to Experience God

How to Experience God

amazon.com

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics