Bill Young’s Post

View profile for Bill Young, graphic
Bill Young Bill Young is an Influencer

Ok...I'm working on a premise. A kernel of a thought I had a while back...and would like to express it here to get your take. I posit: Video Games; their fundamental purpose...is misunderstood. ...Shall we? OMY@C Video games are fun...right? That's why we play them...right? What is fun though? Blowing things up is fun. Killing zombies and nazis...objectively fun. Making tea and moving a plate of fish over and over again from point A to B is fun. ...wait. Is it? Half of "Dave The Diver" is serving sushi to irritable customers. How is that fun? Shit...what does "fun" even mean? Are we thinking about this the right way? Let me be clear, "Dave the Diver" is definitely fun. I enjoyed the hell out of that game. But WHY did I enjoy it? I did not race a car through space...I did not overcome any necromorphs or orcs...hell, I didn't even throw a game winning touchdown. I poured drinks...I added ingredients to a menu. What the hell? Here's the thing: One of the main reasons we play games is to feel the pleasant satisfaction of challenging ourselves when nothing truly mortal is on the line. Historically...when there is no saber-toothed tiger about to eat us, or farmland that needs tilling...humans have played games. We play games to provide a momentary escape from the toil of our daily lives. Ironically, many of these games have psychologically replaced the danger we no longer experience from saber-toothed tigers...or the repetitive toil that very few of us still experience through farming. The danger part is what everyone thinks about. The toil? Not so much. But...we need toil. We need repetition. We need meaningless micro-successes. "Fun?" ...yeah, maybe fun is not strictly about gleeful enjoyment...and more about recognizable satisfaction...and with video games, that includes the toil. I typically have at least two hypercasual mobile games going at any given time. For the last couple years, one of those games has been Voodoo's "Bubble Buster 2024." I'm on level 1,997. It's a prototypical, short-form dopamine distributor. Each level is different though, so it always feels fresh. The other one I'm playing right now is "Hexa Sort," by Lion Studios...it's one of a million "hexa" stacking games, but this one has super clean design, and is genuinely challenging. Is it weird that a "shape" has become a gaming sub-genre? yes...but that's not my point. There is undeniable enjoyment in both games...and I often choose them over GTA V (where I have the opportunity to steal cars, fly a helicopter under a bridge...shoot evil space clowns). It's clearly the more "fun" proposition, right? Toil. It's a different itch that also needs a'scratchin'. Final Thought: The Eagles are next up at The Sphere LV. I know Don Henley and Glenn Frey were notorious jerkfaces, and Jeff Lebowski hates them, but he's wrong. I'd see that show. I think Radiohead would be the ultimate Sphere show though. Make it so.

  • No alternative text description for this image
Robert Macauley

Head of Product Development | Ex Amazon | Ex Logitech

1mo

Personal take is we're hardwired as a species to be competitive and continuously "improve" the world around us (though this is a subjective term and sometimes our short term 'improvements' are long term damaging'). Either way, whether it be putting a ball in a hoop, hitting a ball with a stick, building a bridge across a river, splitting the atom, or serving sushi to angry customers in a simulated environment, we strive to improve and perfect. The joy is in getting better and being better than others at those tasks. It's partially why "trick shot" videos are so popular on social media, flipping a bottle and having it land right side up just scratches a monkey itch we're programmed to have. It's the same itch that gives us roads and air conditioning that also might lead to our demise. Regardless I'll enjoy killing digital zombies while I await the actual apocalypse. Appreciate your stuff as always 👍

Brian Costa

OMNI Marketing. Photography, Graphic Design and lots of other things

1mo

I need to attend that show and get an answer from Don Henley himself. I've been wondering what the heck "colitas" are since dad used to blast Hell Freezes Over on every road trip in his 1985 Chevy S10 while ripping butts as I sat there without a seatbelt on. Good times.

Cindy Mallory

Emerging Tech | Chapter President, VR/AR Association New York | SXSW Advisory Board

1mo

so true..... drop7 is my go-to when riding the subway

Adam Meller

// Creative Director, Brand Strategy: Twitch @ Amazon Ads \\ Fractional Rhinestone Cowboy

1mo

You've dug very deep into this. But I think the reality is very simple: Video games (today, more than ever) are dopamine-dispensers. And since the advent of the mobile/F2P model + microtransactions, they have increasingly played down to the lowest common denominator of "scratching that itch." Do X, get Y. Look at "Banana" on Steam. That's technically a video game. But what are you doing? You are clicking a banana. Why are you doing it? Because you want to get a reward. What's the reward? A special banana that might be hyper rare & worth money. That's it. It leans into your point about needing the "repetitive toil" which I agree with. "Achieving" things in games feels good, because it takes way less effort to do things in a video game & "check off" that box. It's a main reason Tycoons are so popular in UEFN. You're running around, completing simple tasks to make numbers go up & advance the game. Feels good man. It's why daily / weekly challenges are a standard in games. It's why apps incentivize you to open it every day. Now, there are definitely more complex games that shroud this behavior in deep storylines & gameplay mechanics. But the end-result is always the same. Do X, Get Y. Numbers go up. Feels good.

Raul Padron

Business Development | Economic Systems Development | Lawful Evil

1mo

I was able to see radiohead before. They have such empathy on stage with their audience. On the topic; I often wonder why people want to simulate jobs in games...I don't see myself having much of a great time with that at all. (Interlude, PlayWay do not make or publish a gaming simulator of assassin job on silly linkedin users... beg officially for mercy!) But the key idea is that while it's not my fun, it certainly is fun for many...and even more many...people that are not me. And that's wonderful. With out these elements to create in...even greater ideas will inevitably spawn from them being in the minds of once and future creators. Maybe Dave the diver 2 will have another job simulation in it of fishing for those irate sushi folks at the place! I'm not sure the job simulation people are likely to enjoy crusader kings and total war as much me as well. There are nameless people reading this that are old enough to remember when our option were quite limited for gaming every summer and the games were not much stretches of the video game world, generally. Those days are thankfully dead and will never return. Now it's hard to keep with sub subgenres on a single platform weekly and often daily. Brave new world, and I'm glad.

Ben Sarraille

Co-founder @ Makeshift | xMrBeast, MPhil Cambridge | Posts about UGC games, creators, and content

1mo

I think we don't spend enough time asking about what games are/do. Two particularly fun lines of scholarship to me are how labor/leisure can be defined both in-game and out, with acts like grinding being different depending on how you look. But even deeper than that, I think, is just as sports evolved from war in ancient cultures to preserve competition w/ out associated negatives, games seem to evolve from sport to further isolate... something. It can be competition at times. It can be just the opposite, at others. Somewhere in gaming is some core, human thing. And the fact that it's so hard to define while so universally perceived and accessed is so damn interesting.

Zachary Kosma

Software Educator | Autodidact | XR & Esports

3w

Is it about fun or is it about power? I may not be able to defeat a berserk monster in real life, but I can in God of War. I can control things in the game that I can't in my every day life. I have the power to do the impossible in these virtual worlds. This power unlocks the ability to have fun, to get scared, to immerse yourself, to have control over something, and generally express yourself. It's not about fun or even the anthesis of fun what is artfully labelled by Bill as 'toil'. It's about the ability to control your inputs within the game and the power that derives from that control. While one player may play for fun, someone else may have an entirely different or untraditional motivation for playing the game. At the end of the day the root is the control over the interactive media and the capabilities with that control. I have fun in the Sims because I can control the course of my Sim's life in a powerful way than I can my own. This control unlocks all sorts of fun or possible value like seeing what my life could be with different career paths, entertaining virtual relationships, amassing unprecedented wealth, or even watching my Sims untimely death as they drown in a ladderless pool.

Erick Barnes

Founder | Perspective Geek | Gamer

1mo

I have played way too much Tetris on my phone as well as the water sort game. Sometimes I just want to pour things and stack things 🤷🏻♂️

Gary Leigh

Rivalgaz doing his PhD on elite gaming while streaming on Kick

1mo

Interesting thoughts here, even found a quote I could use in my thesis if you don't mind

Like
Reply
David Zemke

Marketing director and leader helping businesses to realize their greatest brand potential.

3w

A big “Yes” on Radiohead at the Sphere. I’d also like to see LCD Soundsystem there too. Although I am not sure either band would ever do it.

Like
Reply
See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics