WWF-UK’s Post

View organization page for WWF-UK, graphic

91,526 followers

We cannot afford to lose this. 👇 Tropical rainforests are the beating heart of our planet. But right now - the Amazon faces a dangerous point of no return. If we lose as little as 3-5% more of its tree cover, we risk the collapse of the rainforest. That’s why we’re taking a stand to protect it - by 2030 we want to achieve three BIG wins for the Amazon: 💚 Stop deforestation 💚 End illegal gold mining 💚 Protect 80% of forests, wetlands and rivers Together, we can make a difference for one of the most biodiverse areas in the world. 👉 https://brnw.ch/21wKWvW #Amazon #Conservation #Wildlife

  • Cute sloth hanging on tree branch looking into the camera and scratching its belly.
  • Two Amazon River Dolphins at the surface.
  • Butterflies and yellow-spotted river turtle.
  • Two macaws in the Uatumã Biological Reserve in the state of Amazonas in Brazil.

I wish the human race could stop and really think about the harm and destruction its caused and continues to cause. It really is heartbreaking to learn the percentage of risk we are at at this point, to imagine a world minus the most biodiverse habit on earth is profound and frankly, tear-worthy! For us to lose the inhabitants of a third of all known plant and animal species through sheer lack of care as the most intelligent species will be a travesty. This really puts things into shocking perspective! I find myself pondering : what I can do and how I can help save our planet? Detering this result and preventing the risk becoming a sad reality. I truly hope my academic pursuits inconjuction with my love of planet Earth; inspire the answers to this here question, directing me to the right path and cause so I can aid in making a positive difference in my life time.

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics