Wildlife Conservation Society’s Post

In 2016, then-President Obama officially named the bison as America’s National Mammal. It represents unity, resilience, and a commitment to healthy landscapes and communities. #julyfourth

  • No alternative text description for this image
JLo Z

Seeking position with company that values my experience in Assisted Living Sales/Marketing, Care Management, Human Resources, Business Management, Volunteering. Willing to relocate!

2w

I've seen them in person as I moved by car from VA to AZ. I sat on the road as they were off in a grange. They saw me and came closer. I was no fool! I backed off. We starred at each other. Two of the big males were very protective and one came the closest. He starred into my eyes. It was as if he could see into my soul. It was heartwarming! He was so majestic! As the sun began to lower I had to hit the road. I stood and said I must go now my friends. The big male lowered his head twice as if he understood and to say goodbye. He let out a sound as well. I have my photos which I will always cherish. They stirred something deep inside me. I cried as I drove away and thinking of them still beings tears to my eyes. They have my soul there is no doubt. They were almost extinct and now are on reserves. I apparently saw them on one of the Reserves in Texas. Their ancestral wisdom is ingrained in them as they roam their plains, giving them their Majestic beauty. They truly are a national treasure.

What a fitting choice for our National Mammal! ❤️ Happy 4th!

Would love to see them in the wild. A majestic iconic mammal. Resiliant.

Like
Reply
mark briskey

Associate Professor Criminology, Academic Chair Master of Criminology, Coordinator Criminology Internships & elected member of Murdoch Academic Council

3w

Majestic, beautiful, noble beast

Like
Reply
See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics