THG’s Post

THG reposted this

View profile for Zee Somji, graphic

People Director - Technology, Finance and Central Services at THG

I owe a lot to THG, professionally and personally. Who would have thought a coffee with a good friend, Max, would have turned into some of the best years of my career.   I’ve still got a lot to learn, but over the past 8-years, I’ve done more than I could have ever dreamed of when I walked into Meridian House in September 2016   I have so many fond memories from my time at THG, but I hold my first few years very close to me as they taught me a lot about work ethic, resilience, and the importance of having a solid team around you.    It wasn’t my favourite memory at the time, but looking back, the race to get to Gadbrook Park before 07:30am to get a parking space was a genuine thrill. I always managed to get a space, but this meant that I also always managed to block myself in until the early evening. It was like a game of Jenga.   Even though it meant having to stay later, it meant that I had every opportunity to finish the day with a clear schedule going into the next day. It also meant that I got to spend more time with people who have become some of my closest friends (They all had the same mentality and approach!). I will never forget the countless journeys to universities up and down the country on our graduate roadshows making sure that we hired the best graduates in those years, or the first ever Black Friday that we had our own warehouse management platform running our orders. Only to get a call to arms from Matthew Moulding asking for anyone that wasn’t trading a site to head to the warehouse to help pick and pack customer orders. During that time, I remember seeing Matthew Moulding, John Gallemore and the rest of the exec team rolling up their sleeves and getting those boxes packed – It was one of the moments that I realised I don’t work for any business, I work for one where no job wasn’t yours, if you can help – Do it.    Fast forward to today, THG is a different business but the principles that underpin everything we do are the same: work hard, keep going. It’s that pace and constant determination that has kept me here for 8 years and will hopefully keep me for many more Steph Wright Andrew Graham Konrad Hill #20Years20Stories #WeAreTHG #THG20

  • No alternative text description for this image
  • No alternative text description for this image
  • No alternative text description for this image
Stephen Dunnion

People & Talent - Crypto

2w

To Gadbrook 🍻

Sam Wilkinson

Group Head of Retail Media @ THG

2w

My 17 year old self may, or may not, have been partly responsible for the slightly wonky yellow bollard 😬

Natalia Chappell

Digital Marketing Consultant | Luxury Fashion, Lifestyle and Beauty | Ecommerce & Digital Marketing | Ex THG

2w

I remember turning up on my first and being blocked by 16 cars.. I thought I wouldn’t go home that day 😂

well done, I see one empty space though. Hardly packed ha

Like
Reply

The stories of the car park are hard to believe… until you’re trying to avoid ending up in the gravel pit! Parking aside, you couldn’t have summed THG up any better Zee! Anyone who got to work in Gadbrook is luckier than they ever realised!

Peter Atkinson

Building high performance Product and Tech Organisations | ex-THG | From UK 🇬🇧 in UAE 🇦🇪

2w

Great post mate. I didn’t get anywhere near eight years but the two I had changed my life, surrounded by amazing people doing great things. I’ve said it many times but the best thing anyone can do early in their career is spend time at THG - they might not get the Gadbrook treatment anymore (Arabica for lunch 👌🏻) but they’ll get experience and mentality that is more valuable than any formal education.

Matthew Moulding

Founder & CEO at THG | Building a global giant from the UK

2w

Oh I’ve spent some years on the phone looking out over that car park 🤣

Gail Davies

Head of Accounts Payable and Master Data

2w

I remember my first day and parking where I shouldn’t! (Oct 2014) Grace Hardcastle soon put me right! Only 500 employees in those days too. That car park used to cause me anxiety! 😂 It’s been quite a journey over the last 10 years, I can’t imagine what it’s like to have been a part of such a success for 20 years! Keep doing what you’re doing #THG

Congratulations on your incredible 8-year journey at THG, Zee! Your dedication and teamwork shine through in your experience. 💼

Like
Reply

8 years in with many more to go... Zee The Face of THG!!

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics