The Washington Post’s Post

View organization page for The Washington Post, graphic

1,596,941 followers

In the first presidential debate of 2024, it seemed as though the entire country lost. With multiple gaffes, awkward silences and proclaimed falsehoods that went largely undisputed by moderators — many voters, especially younger ones, are expressing even more discontent and aggravation following the debate with Donald Trump and President Joe Biden. Are you one of them? Share your responses here: https://wapo.st/3zyuOSM

  • No alternative text description for this image
Noemi De Jesus-Aponte

Doctor of Nursing Practice: Family Nurse Practitioner - Educator, Community Activist

1d

I would vote for President Biden even if he was on a respirator! #VOTEBLUE #VOTEBIDENHARRIS2024

Edward C. Hopkins Jr.

Attorney Focusing on Civil Rights, Defamation, and Discrimination Law

2d

An independent, watching the debate made me more upset with America's two dominant political parties than I was before the debate. Because I know the POTUS doesn't do most of the POTUS's work, I know my vote isn't for the candidate. My vote is for one of those two parties and the powerbrokers in them. The debate didn't change my vote. I'm voting for the political party that I believe will do the least harm to America after the candidate it forced us all to vote for or against gives that party the power of the POTUS for four years. I don't plan to watch anymore debates, if the two spokespeople running for POTUS dare to have another one. I wasted my time watching the first one.

Peter M Delmas

Director of Operations / I.H.M. International Hospitality Management... Authentic leader focused on People ! Contrarian Strategist, Storyteller and Street-Smart Sensibility Advocate!! POWERPACK...Contributor !!

2d

I feel even better about Biden. I watched with a large group of Republicans. Never trumpers. Amazingly all were still on board with Biden. They wrote it off to a bad night. They also recognized trumps lies, projections and avoidance of answers. The reasons they became never trumpers. I was at first, depleted by Bidens performance. Then it struck me, Leaders who show their vulnerabilities are not weakened by them. It helps build trust and respect with their people. I respect Biden and trust him, to do the job...again ! Four more Years !

Franklin Ayers

Content creation and document management, illustration, design, project management, compliance, and quality. Would enjoy creating and managing documents for a great company!

2d

Still voting for Biden. The press TOTALLY overreacted to a bad night from a sick candidate. It was loathsome how the media reported this story. The headlines should have read Trump delivers lie after lie while Biden, with a cold, focused on policy and why electing Trump would be dangerous for the nation. I am disgusted with the American press. They can and should do better.

Tim Tanner

"Put my faith in the people but the people let me down. So I turned the other way and I carry on, anyhow..." Rare Earth

2d

I would vote for a peanut butter sandwich before I would vote for tRump.

I am still a Joe Biden supporter. I do not trust Trump or Kennedy for that matter. I want a president who lived in the real world, who is honest and leads by example!!!! #BlueWave2024

I’ll take the “old guy”.

Larry Cole

Pandemic / Covid-19 / LongCOVID - Insights-Science-Research-Updates-News-Solutions-Referrals

2d

There is no question in my mind Joe had a bad night. Everyone to a person knew this would not be a policy debate. To think someone is going to change their vote based on this show is folly. There are but a handful people left that will walk into the booth undecided. Not to change the subject but I believe the deciding factor will be womens rights the moment someone walks into the booth. Forget about the diaper man, forget about Joe....I think it will come down to a very base judgement call made when they have to vote for someone....who do I think is going to take us further into the 18th century laws when women were in the klitchen, no rights, no vote and no choice in their own health. I learned long ago, hell hath no fury like a women scorned. Red team and the orange terd swatted that hornets nest with a club, and now they are trying but to no avail to herd them back in line with empty rhetoric.

Still voting for President Biden.🙏🇺🇲

Lisa Cherubini Diletti

International Cross Cultural Communications Consultant | Writer | US Citizen with work permit for Italy and EU member countries

10h

I am still with Biden! And proud to do so! Absolutely absurd to judge a man solely by 90-minute performance. Sadly, to me it is indicative of shallowness of the American culture to do so! The one who should be stepping down from the race is Donald Trump. This is a total embarrassment that we have a convicted felon, leader of an insurrection, who was found liable for sexual abuser and business fraud and still faces 30+ indictments running for President. What the hell does that say about our culture and the Republican Party?? Furthermore, Trump never ever cited policy during the debate. He just rambled incoherently with his 3rd grade level vocabulary spewing lie after lie - which could easily be dembunked but CNN moderators didn’t fact check. Absurd and outrageous format to begin with. I want an intelligent President and Trump is not that but he is a danger to our democracy and democracies worldwide. He discussed gleefully how he spoke with Putin about Putin’s dream to invade Ukraine! That sent chills up my spine. As the granddaughter of 4 immigrants who worshipped our democracy, I will do what I can to protect it, even though I now live in Italy, starting with voting for Joe Biden!

Like
Reply
See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics