Tyler Riley’s Post

View profile for Tyler Riley, graphic

Heart-Softener, Content Creator, Personal Brand & Wellness Advocate

TWO WEEK UPDATE: My first vlog re: my Uber driver experience is live now on my YouTube channel. THANK YOU for all of the loving comments, support, and advice. I have connected with many kind souls who have unfortunately dealt with similar obstacles; however, I’m grateful we’ve found one another. I hope the documentation of this journey serves you well ❤️ Watch here: https://lnkd.in/gXE3wzJP

View profile for Tyler Riley, graphic

Heart-Softener, Content Creator, Personal Brand & Wellness Advocate

I just quit my 9-5 to drive for Uber for the summer 😳 Here’s why: 👉🏾 After 2.5 years of giving everything and more to a company (whose leadership team barely spoke to me yet I was running their largest account)…the minute I tried to exercise boundaries, utilize my approved PTO, or communicate about burnout, the narrative became that I was “insecure” and “no longer passionate” (instead of acknowledging the truth of being overworked and underpaid). 👉🏾 I was told I was “passive aggressive” and that I had “an attitude” for asking for extra prep time for a meeting (I asked 3 times the week before if I needed to attend or lead the meeting and was told no; a few hours before the meeting I was told plans had changed and that I had to lead regardless of what else was on my plate). 👉🏾 I became exhausted with over-explaining myself and feeling like a child in the workplace when I am a grown, accountable, productive, creative, and passionate adult. If you know me, you know I work HARD. However, I made a vow to leave all abusive relationships and that includes leaving jobs. I hesitated to post this, but I know I am helping someone by speaking up. Employees are essentially brand ambassadors for a company, believe it or not—they should be treated well. If humanity isn’t at the center of your business, I really don’t know what you’re doing. Fear exists, but it’s not my full-time reality. I trust that I WILL BE MORE THAN OKAY. If you want to see for yourself, I’ll be sharing more about this journey to my YouTube soon 🤭 https://lnkd.in/gf3wWzdC. Idk exactly what’s next, but Uber will allow me to support people daily and offer a smile so I will explore joyfully. I’m letting the transition be as messy as it needs to be so I can be as free as I wish to be. #wellbeingatwork #burnoutrecovery #entrepreneurialspirit #freshstart #wellnessmatters

  • No alternative text description for this image

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics