Two Sigma’s Post

View organization page for Two Sigma, graphic

200,679 followers

Women in Machine Learning recently featured Two Sigma's Claudia Perlich, Head of Strategic Data Science, Investment Management, for her contributions to Machine Learning. Claudia shared how her passion for biology inspired her later interest in #MachineLearning during her graduate studies. Learn more:

View organization page for Women in Machine Learning, graphic

5,300 followers

Claudia Perlich is an outstanding example of women in machine learning. While her passion for machine learning is evident, it was not her original interest. When asked how she first became interested in machine learning, Claudia shared "My interest in machine learning developed almost accidentally. Growing up I was really interested in biology and animals in particular. Not the small ones though - I was an avid lover of horses! My mom quickly cured me of my dream of becoming a vet by sending me to work in a cow stable for two weeks. Instead, my dad convinced me that there would be a future in CS and that I could decide later. So, in 1995 I picked a course on “artificial neural networks” during my CS grad school, just because it sounded cool and seemed to have a taste of biology in the name. Little did I know that the underlying technology would revolutionize AI a good 20 years later. But during that course I fell in love with working with data; it is incredible how much you can learn about people without having to talk to them. Regular CS can be very dry and somewhat abstract, but here was an opportunity to engage with the world and learn about all kinds of domains from medical applications like breast cancer and hospital readmissions to advertising and finance." Thank you Claudia for your positive representation of women in machine learning and your many contributions to the field.

  • No alternative text description for this image
Balaji Krishnapuram

VP, Content Engineering and Core Product Analysis/Data Science at Pinterest

2mo

Claudia is an incredible leader and scientist. I've learned so much by collaborating with her over the years. Congratulations, and thank you for your leadership in so many areas. Very well deserved.

Like
Reply
Beverly Kahn (We're RECRUITING)

Founder / President @ New Dimensions in Technology, Inc. | MBA

2mo

Claudia Perlich I had the pleasure of meeting Claudia many years ago. She is so special. No ego/ no arrogance/ just a brilliant person who is willing to share her intellect/ ideas/ and experiences with others.

Like
Reply
Faisal Farooq

Artificial Intelligence Executive, Machine Learning Leader, Innovator, Strategist

2mo

Congratulations Claudia! Always an inspiration , always a leader ! I am proud to call you a friend and learn from your over the years.

Like
Reply
Rajesh Parekh

Tech Executive | Artificial Intelligence | Machine Learning | Data Science | Strategy | Leadership

2mo

Claudia Perlich you are an inspiration to so many of us! Congratulations on this recognition 💐

Like
Reply
Hema Raghavan

Head of Engineering and Co-Founder at Kumo.AI (we are hiring)

2mo

Congratulations Claudia Perlich! Always an inspiration!

Jayalakshmi Raju Udaya

Machine Learning | Data Science

2mo

Claudia Perlich many congratulations!! 👏🎉

Like
Reply
See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics