Travis Grizzel’s Post

View profile for Travis Grizzel, graphic

Technology Leader and Product Architecture @ Oracle

I'm very proud of the OCTO team for this one! In Werner Vogels blog post, he uses the word "simple" nine times, and I think thats worth paying attention to: "The app itself is simple — and this is intentional. I subscribe to the idea that systems should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler." Too often, we as technologists, get into a mode of trying to make systems more complex than they need to be. Often, it seems that we do this just because we can, rather than because it's necessary for the problem. Complexity is the enemy of execution, and it's one of the core things that the OCTO team considers in everything we do, from storytelling to writing code. It's important to start with the problem you're trying to solve, and then finding the simplest and most effective solution to that problem, and nothing more. This is how we build Frugal Architectures (https://lnkd.in/g-A45CgZ), how we use technology more sustainably, and how we move forward with speed and agility. Well done, Jeff Nunn, Erik Hopf, Roger Yong Zhang, Lisa Nix and Patrick Johnson.

 As you may know, I take plenty of notes. And I’m always on the lookout for new tools and strategies to refine my process. Recently, I decided it was time to get my hands dirty — so, my team and I set out to build a simple note-taking aide, which transcribes and summarizes our meetings using Bedrock. Today, we’re making the proof of concept available to everyone. Additionally, I’ve been working with Amazon Q to convert this sample app into a Rust CLI, which I plan to share in the upcoming weeks (after I have a few Rustaceans at Amazon review it for me). As someone relatively new to Rust, I have to say that Q has been a helpful collaborator, and non-judgmental teacher. If you haven’t already, I encourage you to give it a try. It’s a reminder that it’s not always about solving the “big” problem in one swoop. Sometimes it’s about chipping away at everyday problems. Finding simple solutions that become the foundation for incremental and meaningful innovation. Now, go build! Read more and download the sample code here: https://lnkd.in/g_RmN7AA

Hacking our way to better team meetings

Hacking our way to better team meetings

allthingsdistributed.com

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics