Skye Dodd, PMP’s Post

View profile for Skye Dodd, PMP, graphic

Implementation Project Manager | Career Transition Coach | Strategic Partner | Knocking down information silos, one day at a time

I've always found true crime documentaries interesting. When I was a child welfare social worker, a new wave of true crime documentaries began to emerge. Some popular ones include: 💙 The Trials of Gabriel Fernandez 💙 Take Care of Maya: A Netflix Documentary I remember watching the Gabriel Fernandez documentary after a long day in the field. During that time, my team was working an egregious sexual abuse case. I was a supervisor, responsible for making life and death decisions for about 250 children daily. So when I was watching this documentary, I thought to myself "eh, I've seen worse". ... how awful is that? I was 6 years into child welfare and I was completely desensitized. Shortly after watching that documentary, I went to get my hair cut. The hair dresser asked about my job, as they often do. I told her about social work and some of the most common cases we dealt with - substance misuse, domestic violence, and unmanaged mental health. She almost broke down at the thought and she asked me "how do you deal with that every day?" ...to which I replied, shrugging my shoulders "you just get used to it." I went home later that night, fully ready to commit to leaving the field... You see, I knew I made an impact. But you can't continue to be as impactful if you can no longer feel. Last night, I watched a documentary on Paramount+ called '11 Seconds'. And for the first time in a long time, I cried during a documentary. It feels so good to be able to empathize again... I know so many professionals have similar stories. 💙 Teachers 💙 Therapists 💙 Doctors 💙 Nurses 💙 EMT's 💙 Law enforcement officers 💙 And so many more I'd love to hear from anyone who has had a similar experience or knows someone who has gone through something similar! What's your story? #mentalhealthmatters #careertransition #socialwork #socialworkers #mentalhealth #documentary #documentaries #truecrime #teachers #doctors #nurses #lawenforcement #firstresponders #netflix #paramountplus

Carleen Keyport CAPM, CSSGB

Project Management | CAPM | LSSGB | Multidimensional problem-solver, merging data, strategy, and creativity for impact

1mo

Skye I completely relate. I’m in healthcare and work in a specialized lab that deals with testing for leukemia & lymphoma (blood / bone marrow cancers). I ride the ups and downs of diagnosis, treatment with on-going monitoring, and remission or relapse along side our patients. The rollercoaster is normal and expected. I know two people in my extended family that have cancer diagnoses. They’re currently undergoing treatment and I find it hard to connect to what they’re going through because I deal with it all day every day. I also find it hard to get overly concerned about every little detail that’s passed my way. Definitely feel desensitized.

Like
Reply
Luyn Bui, PMP, CSM

Project Manager | Enhancing operational excellence and employee experience | Fostering culture and community

1mo

It's admirable to hear how you realized the effects you decided to step away. I have a close friend that was in a similar role, but her experience was opposite from yours. It affected her pretty badly and she also reached a point where she left the role. She's in a much better place now, but I can't imagine having to go through what you both did. My heart could not. Thanks for sharing, Skye Dodd, PMP!

Like
Reply
Ethan Schwaber, MBA, MSA, PMP

Award Winning Business Ops & PMO Executive Leader | LinkedIn Top Project Management Voice | Strategic PMO Impact Driver | Expert PMO Consultant & Coach

1mo

It's interesting how life situations can affect us like this. It's great that you realized how desensitized you were and decided to make a life altering change! For many, they are also stuck in these fields for long careers and for that, we can be grateful for taking on burdens that are so difficult. Great share Skye Dodd, PMP.

Like
Reply
Benjamin Chan PMP, P.Eng, CMC, ASM

Project Management Leadership Success Coach - Empowering your organization's project managers to deliver confidently and strategically ❇️ Global Speaker ❇️ 2x Top Top Voice ❇️ Consultant ❇️ Past PMI Chapter Board Member

1mo

Those are some tough stories Skye Dodd, PMP. Those managing these type of situations on a frequent basis can desensitize them and I can't imagine the impact it has on those around them. I hope there is the right support for those helping so many people and have to carry this burden.

Laura Rankin, M. Ed.

Innovative Business Analyst | Results-Driven Problem Solver | Change Agent

1mo

"You can't continue to be as impactful if you can no longer feel" ~ and the reasons some can no longer feel are beyond their control, no one is protected from burnout in the fields you mentioned. Thank you for the encouragement Skye Dodd, PMP!

Like
Reply
Maura Ondo H.

Project Manager | Relationship Builder | Strategic Thinker | Travel Enthusiast | Sustainability and Health Advocate

1mo

Our brains are wired to protect us. The tricky part was recognizing that I was existing in protective mode. Mental health absolutely matters ❤️ Thanks for sharing your story!

Like
Reply
Maggie Liu

Ops Lady | Adventurer | Small Biz Owner (launching 2025)

1mo

Ooooh don’t forget Ice Cold!

Like
Reply
See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics