Samaritans’ Post

View organization page for Samaritans, graphic

97,819 followers

James is running a marathon every day in 2024, and today he’s at his halfway point. This is an absolutely huge challenge, and he’s taking it on to fundraise for us. Please leave him some love and encouragement in the comments 💚 Here are some words from James 👇 “I experienced a depressive period in my life that rocked me to my core. After that, I started to fundraise for others who might be struggling. During those times in my life when it’s been tough, having someone there to listen to me has made a huge difference and that’s what Samaritans do. Sadly, I lost my uncle to suicide, which is where my connections with Samaritans began. It made me want to be there for others when they need it. During those moments on my daily marathons, when I’m thinking ‘Can I keep going?’, it spurs me on to know that Samaritans are there for people who are thinking the same about life. I’d say to anyone else struggling right now, know you aren’t alone. There are a lot of people who are feeling or have felt how you do. Get help from someone you trust – whether that’s a friend or talking to a service like Samaritans. Be gentle with yourself. Lower the requirements you have on yourself for a day – the small things are wins. Getting out of bed, making a cup of tea – anything that helps you recognise your power. Know that it will pass – nothing is permanent.” Thank you James, for everything you do for us, we’re so proud to have an amazing supporter like you. We’ll be cheering you on for the rest of the year 💚

  • No alternative text description for this image
Julia Runnacles

Retired - Senior Vice President, Legal at Hasbro

2w

Huge commitment and generosity of spirit! Well done James!

Pamela Kemp

Logistics supplier at Royal Air Force

2w

James, this is incredible- it’s such a wonderful thing that you are achieving and for such a true and honest cause! I unfortunately lost a colleague to suicide in early 2023 and that rocked me too (still does). The painful thing was I’ve been there (suicide) I almost achieved it but pulled myself back knowing there was more for me yet to come in this life and people who cared. If we had listened and seen I mean truly listened and seen we could have helped Our colleague. Keep going James- I don’t even know you but can see that you you are amazing in yourself and your convictions! Such an inspiration! ❤️

Very inspiring James! A powerful reminder of the amazing work Samaritans do daily. #TeamZen are cheering for you as you reach this halfway milestone! 💜

Michele Leach-Lewis

Director of Sales & Marketing - Africa Tailormade

1w

James, you are such an inspiration (to many) - always remember that. Well done on everything that you are doing and for your wise words. It is wonderful that more people are speaking about the difficulties of life and mental wellness, instead of going through agony alone and never talking about it, or seeking help.

Like
Reply

Well done James, what a great achievement. Well done for speaking out to inspire others. Keep doing what you're doing!

Mike Flynn

Working with  people to make the most of this one short, wild and precious life, through coaching, leadership development and wellness tools.

2w

Amazing challenge. So impressive and for such a good cause.

Alexandra Vernon

Freelance writer, editor and storyteller | Mile 91

2w

A marathon EVERY DAY in 2024? That's incredible! I'd also like a link to James' fundraising page if poss! 💟

Nimi Herrkaur

CEO at Non Disclosure Agreement Limited

2w

lucky you can run

Sam Killip

Marketing Communications Assistant

2w

This is amazing, James. Keep doing what you are doing. Each step on this journey is a huge help.

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics