Ross McLean’s Post

View profile for Ross McLean, graphic

Insight Industry Expert | Mobile App Designer & Developer | Generative AI | Mobile Qualitative Research Pioneer | Successful Tech Platform Founder

Since I started doing a deep dive on Generative AI and taking about it on Linkedin, I've had a lot of people ask me how they can start getting comfortable with AI. So, I'm going to start sharing a few simple things people can do to start exploring and getting comfortable. Hope it helps. Feel free to share tricks that work for you. Get Comfortable with Generative AI Activity # 1: Start using https://www.perplexity.ai/ instead of whatever search engine you currently use (note: I don't work for Perplexity and they are not a client). Perplexity is a Gen AI-driven search engine that gives you AI-generated answers to your searches rather than just giving you a list of links like Google. Here's what I learned from doing this: 1. Perplexity does a good job of checking multiple sources and clearly shows the source of the materials it quotes in the answers it gives you including a direct link to the source. This helps me see how providing great sourcing lets me be confident that the answer I'm being given by Generative AI is based on reputable data and isn't a hallucination, which is a big deal in the Generative AI space. 2. "Answer engines" like Perplexity give answers. Most search engines just give a list of links (mostly paid/sponsored) that I have to sort through to answer the question myself. Answer engines like Perplexity are going to seriously disrupt search companies like Google and interacting with Perplexity makes it clear why.

Perplexity

Perplexity

perplexity.ai

Kate Pezza Temple

Strategic Human Resource Executive & Consultant | Leader Development & Organizational Effectiveness | Executive Coach

20h

Thanks for sharing this Ross - so helpful to have an "answers" engine

Like
Reply
Severine Tarayre

Consumer Insights | Brand Strategy | Product Innovation | Ex-WPP (Ogilvy, Landor)

4w

I am a big fan of Perplexity that Stephen Griffiths made me discover

Like
Reply
Peter Totman

‘Veteran’ qual researcher

4w

Downloaded - thanks Ross

Like
Reply
See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics