Rosanna Campbell’s Post

View profile for Rosanna Campbell, graphic

Senior content writer | B2B SaaS

Getting my first 1000 LinkedIn followers took me 6 years. Getting my first 7000 LinkedIn followers took me a year. Going from charging $100 per blog to $500 took me 5 years. Going from $500 to $1350 took me 2 years. If you're stuck in the trenches right now, wondering why this all feels so bloody hard (while people like me ponce about with our handy little tips on LinkedIn) just remember that the effort you're putting in right now compounds. When I was starting out, I worked nights and weekends. I got paid peanuts. I had clients who were ridiculously demanding. I spent hours and hours on networking, and pitching, and marketing, and posting on LinkedIn to the sound of crickets. It was a slog, and I stuck at it because a) I liked the job, and I knew one day I'd be good at it and b) I had a small kid and we needed the income and I couldn't think of anything else I could do. These days, I work for lovely clients, I make a good living, and I only work about 25 hours a week. And yes, I got lucky. This isn't everyone's freelance story. But, generally speaking, if you put in the reps, it gets easier. Hang on in there. You got this.

Keagan Perlette

Freelance Long-Form Content Writer for Customer-Led B2B Brands

1mo

Truly needed to read this today Rosanna. There's no guardrail in my mind on the Compare and Despair Cliff, and being on LinkedIn often drives me right off it! Thanks for this lovely parachute. I can be extremely impatient with myself and my progress. I've realized that I can only pack so much learning, business development, client work, personal time, and creative work into my weeks—I can only go as fast as my body lets me, and I have to accept that limitation and be okay with things taking longer than I want them to. Hopefully one day I'll get to ponce about too!

Lizzie Davey

Content writer & strategist for SaaS + ecom tech ✨ Newsletter writer ✨ Speaker, creator and workshop host ✨ Founder of Freelance Magic and Friday Freelance Tips newsletter

1mo

"Ponce about with our handy little tips" 😂 But yes, this, this, and this some more. I look back at the first 5 years of my career and I barely recognise it. I was getting paid pennies, worked with clients I couldn't say no to, and worked around the clock. I'm not sure why I persevered, but I'm glad I did 😅

Daniel Kenitz

Freelance Writer 🖋️ Author 🖋️ Debut novel "The Perfect Home" January 7, 2025

1mo

Thanks for this! It's easy to forget how much work it takes to get over that first hill.

Megan Morreale

2x Head of Content @ Reddit & Taboola | Getting content marketers promoted by thinking beyond content.

1mo

Ya know, I think I have a similar story but I’d never have framed it that way. I’ve been freelance writing since college, and back then I think I made less than $100 per post. We all start somewhere. The trick is just to actually start.

Like
Reply
Swetha Mukherjee

SEO Blog Writer in the Wellness niche| I write data-backed, unique and engaging blog content that boosts your brand's Authority, Credibility and Traffic|

1mo

Going strong even with struggles because a) I love what I do and b) I want to be really good at what I do. I know it's testing now, but I'll reap the benefits eventually. Thanks for the motivation in the post Rosanna Campbell

Anuradha Shiv

Fractional Content Manager and Communication Officer for SMEs | Content Writer for Data Analytics & SaaS Businesses | Thought Leadership Writer for Tech CEOs and Businesses

1mo

I find your post very encouraging. Just hoping to do the same with my rates. 😆

Cynthia Kincaid

Fractional CMO| Marketing Strategist | Journalist | Content Creator helping companies in highly regulated industries like Financial Services, Insurance, Healthcare and Legal craft winning marketing and content strategies

1mo

A great reminder. I think we should all go listen to the theme song from Rocky.

Travis Taborek

Fractional Head of Content | Growing online visibility for HR tech & productivity solutions with targeted SEO content strategies | Author of "My Robot Butler Bradbury: A Guide to ChatGPT for Content Marketing"

1mo

Thank you Rosanna Campbell. I need to be reminded of this sometimes

Flor Maria Cruz

I help second-career founders and solopreneurs in the tech and environment industries change the world with content that makes an impact | Ghostwriter

1mo

And that is something I needed to hear today. Thanks Rosanna. Have a wonderful weekend.

Amanda S.

Cybersecurity Content Writer & Blogger | Webinar Host at Techstrong Learning | Former Security Research Professional | MSc. in Cybersecurity | Security Awareness & Education Blogger | Content Creator

1mo

Wonderful post Rosanna Campbell! I often mention to others who ask for advice or guidance to always remember everything is temporary. Slow periods are temporary as much as busy seasons are too.

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics