Rippl’s Post

View organization page for Rippl, graphic

4,676 followers

We ❤️ you Ann Dingwall, CSA, CDP, CMDCP! This is what it's all about. "Caregiving is not rocket science.  If you can be a friend and can listen, you can be a caregiver.  Getting out of your comfort zone helps you live longer, and wards off dementia." - Ann Dingwall, Rippl Changemaker #createarippl #whywerippl #LIVINGwithDementia #breakthestigma #moregooddays #dementia #caregiver

View profile for Ann Dingwall, CSA, CDP, CMDCP, graphic

Patient Care Advocate | Dementia

I had the pleasure of spending time with my 96-year-old aunt this past week, as I gave much-needed respite to my cousin who has been an informal caregiver to her mom for 7 years.  My cousin never imagined that she’d be providing this much life to her mother.  Putting her own life and needs on hold to keep her mother’s life as comfortable and familiar as possible. Allowing my cousin to have some time is a nice feeling, but it also gives me a chance to slow down, have a change of scenery, and observe the situation for some helpful feedback to my cousin who often feels unsupported, anxious, and lonely.   This is my second respite stay here in sunny California.  Giving respite is not hard, my aunt is still engageable.  She and I weren’t particularly close when I was growing up, but I know her story and who she is and that is enough.  My presence is more companion care and assistance, but nothing super clinical.  She looks forward to my visit and we get to break the rules together.  There are 53 million informal caregivers in the US.  These are family members who provide life to those who need assistance. Formal care is expensive and out of sight for many.  Medicaid can be a lengthy process and depletes generational wealth for those who have savings and assets with the idea of passing this along. If you are single like me, (or need a break from your spouse, partner, or kids) and can’t afford a lavish vacation somewhere, but you need a change of pace, some added sunshine maybe, mix life up a bit.  (And yes, I am still in my PJ at 11 am in this photo).   I challenge you to get out of your comfort zone reach out to someone you know and offer the gift of time.  For an afternoon, a day, a weekend.   Caregiving is not rocket science.  If you can be a friend and can listen, you can be a caregiver.  Getting out of your comfort zone helps you live longer, and wards off dementia.  Still skeptical about your ability to help?  Start by telling caregivers SPECIFICALLY how you can help.  The last thing a caregiver wants to hear is “Let me know if I can help you.”  Instead offer how you can help, time, errands, yard work, and a meal together.  “I can mow your lawn on Sunday?”  “I’m headed to Safeway, would you like me to pick up a prepped meal for you and ___?”  “I notice your daughter comes by on Thursday afternoons, would you be able to get away for lunch with me?  Be specific when you offer help.  #caregivers #patience, #silentgeneration.

  • No alternative text description for this image

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics