RED-ROCHESTER, LLC’s Post

RED-ROCHESTER, LLC reposted this

We’re all imposters if we measure ourselves against someone else’s skill set and forget our own. Instead, offer your strengths to others and you will be amazed how many people offer their strengths to you. 🤝 Video from WOBI, November 2023, with Chris Stanley

Victor Arnaud

Managing Director, Brazil @ Equinix | 🌱Angel Investor | 📈Board Advisor

1mo

Shifting focus from comparison to contribution reveals our unique value and fosters collaborative growth. It’s about enhancing collective capabilities through shared strengths.

Ozzie Kang

THOUGHT LEADERSHIP on Shaping Culture I Change Leadership I People Development I Continuous Improvement

1mo

Measuring ourselves to others is a losing proposition because the end goal is based on a win-lose scenario. Let's reframe our view of competition from external (me vs. you) to one that is focused on personal growth as the priority. Shift your mindset. Stop comparing yourself to others and focus on developing your personal goals. Appreciate that you are no longer competing with others, but rather, competing with yourself. Set personal goals that help to shape personal growth and development. When you focus on you, you recognize that jobs will come and go. You are no longer fighting for a piece of a fixed pie. So what does that mean? Well ... if your colleague gets the promotion over you, you are genuinely happy for that person. Your colleague's gain is not your loss because your mindset is not about a fixed pie (win / lose), but rather, a growing pie where opportunities are just around the corner. Believe in yourself ... invest in yourself, and commit to being better tomorrow by putting in the effort today. Thoughts ...

Daniel Weatherby

Business Analyst | Data Analysis Disclaimer: All views and opinions expressed on this profile are solely my own and do not reflect those of my employer or any affiliated organisations.

1mo

I don’t think that is entirely true. I know for myself I have felt imposter syndrome often in my career not because I was comparing myself to others but because at those times I had low self-worth. I didn’t know all the answers and felt like I should. But as we mature we realise that it’s okay to ask for help or say I don’t know but I can find out.

Christopher R.

Engineering Leader - Specializing in Dimensional Management - Multi Industry Experience

1mo

When religion was more involved, many of us were taught that the Creator imbued us with inane talents and abilities. Our purpose on earth was to learn what those are and use them to serve. We all take blows to confidence at times or have to recover from less than satisfactory outcomes or experiences. But if you develop a belief that you deserve some joy while serving others and focus on service and using your skills, imposter syndrome kind of fades away.

✨Amy Brickell Smith✨

𝐄𝐦𝐩𝐨𝐰𝐞𝐫𝐢𝐧𝐠 𝐰𝐨𝐦𝐞𝐧 𝐭𝐨 𝗹𝗲𝗮𝗱 𝗽𝗮𝘀𝘀𝗶𝗼𝗻 𝗱𝗿𝗶𝘃𝗲𝗻 𝗹𝗶𝘃𝗲𝘀⚡️𝗢𝗻𝗹𝗶𝗻𝗲 𝗯𝘂𝘀𝗶𝗻𝗲𝘀𝘀 𝗺𝗲𝗻𝘁𝗼𝗿 ⚡️𝙃𝙤𝙧𝙨𝙚 𝑶𝒃𝒔𝒆𝒔𝒔𝒆𝒅 🐎 𝙁𝙤𝙤𝙙𝙞𝙚 | 𝙒𝙤𝙧𝙡𝙙 𝙏𝙧𝙖𝙫𝙚𝙡𝙚𝙧 🛫

1mo

Imposter syndrome is only real when you compare yourself to others. You are good enough to be in that position, no matter who held it before you. You bring your own special skills, that your predecessor(s) don't have. There is a reason you are in the position you are in. Embrace your strengths and what you bring to your position.

Ron Orrick

President & CEO, Thrivent Federal Credit Union | “The Pivot” (between Strategy & Execution)

1mo

It’s so much worse than that. We are comparing ourselves to our perception of their skill set. Once again, we do not see the world as it is, we see it as we are.

Eileen Bobowski

Driving meaningful impact and growth through the fusion of marketing expertise and non-profit leadership

1mo

It's not personal. Keep my focus on what I do best and keep getting better at it. Comparison is the thief of joy. Spend your time always learning and improving.

Danielle Nye-Read, RCA, CA, JP

Director at National Audits Group | 14+ years in Audit, Assurance and Advisory | 2022 Wagga Business Chamber Golden Crow Award Winner for Outstanding Young Business Leader

1mo

We can’t be everything on our own, but together we can be. It’s about leveraging from those around you, supporting each others strengths, and building something truly amazing as a team. Love this! 👌🏼

Heather P.

Biopharma Sales Leader I Create High-Performance Teams I Product Launch I Forward-Thinking & Authentic Leadership I Employee Motivation & Engagement I Planning & Innovation I Diversity, Equity, Inclusion & Belonging

1mo

Your post resonates greatly with me. During this past year fill with change and uncertainty, I have been amazed how organically relationships grow when you connect without an agenda, listen and accept feedback and share your talents and skills. These authentic connections have been one of the true joys in my life and have propelled me forward and changed my future. #AuthenticConnections #EmbraceChange #GrowthThroughRelationships

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics