Pratik Guharay’s Post

View profile for Pratik Guharay, graphic

Engineering leader | Technologist | Builder | Innovator

Everyday, we share and celebrate our personal wins with our professional network. But, today I am celebrating promotions (L5 and L6)  of two of my mentees (working from two different countries) at Google. No - they did not get promoted because I mentored them, instead it was 100% their leadership and impact that got rewarded with very well deserved promotions. Why am I telling this story? Because, I practiced something different from my prior mentoring camps and that paid off to hit this organizational goal.   (1) Sponsor and support: It is one thing to mentor and completely different to support one's career. Mentors can preach what good looks like in a 1:1 setting, while the supporter walks with the candidate till the end of the journey. It needs curving out time to be present in their design reviews, tech talks or hard negotiations. It helped me to calibrate their progression towards success.    (2) Make it a goal: One may ask - how did you find this much time? Well - I turned this into my organization and leadership goal. Also, I started sponsoring a few org wide initiatives that are aligned with respective promo needs of these individuals. That helped me to negotiate time with my leadership. (3) Career accounting: This is one area where I struggled in my career - managing the books of career accounting. We miss documenting where my time is spent and why? This is where we start losing focus on what is most important for the organization and career. I did spend a good amount of time with my mentees to practice this trait and improve their focus on career goals. (4) Structuring a personalized growth plan: Every individual is at a different maturity level in their career trajectory and therefore, growth strategy has to be personalized. While that is not surprising, it is important to structure with a network of feedback providers and prior promo committee members. In short, I opened up a direct communication channel to get input on where each mentee needs to demonstrate strength and that helped to remove ambiguity. (5) Upward management: Many of us struggle to manage our managers and partners. This comes in the form of expectation management, communicating priorities and goals effectively, establishing trust while demonstrating judgment and ownership. This is a specific area where I started a focused coaching within my camp and promo packets reflected those evidences. I wish all the very best to my mentees in their new roles at Google. Cheers!

🛠️Anshika Rakesh

Engineering Manager - Third Party Security and compliance

2mo

Point 5 is one of the critical insights! Transparency and laying down the expectations helps managers be prepared as well to support downwards as well as make things visible upwards.

George Oburu

Sr. Quality Engineer

2mo

Thanks Pratik Guharay for sharing this, and congratulations to your mentees. Your take on mentoring process is inspiring, I like your views on upward management. Thank you.

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics