Patreon’s Post

Patreon reposted this

View profile for Sarah Won, graphic

Marketing at Patreon | Ex-TikTok, Snap, Tumblr

After spending a decade working at social media platforms, I've witnessed a significant shift in how creators have been shape-shifting their work to appeal to the algorithm. Not only does this tire out creators, but it produces an altered version of work that is retrofitted into a format or trend as opposed to an artist's pure creative vision. The result? I no longer see social platforms as a place to get inspired. I'm getting burned out by my feed being altered to optimize my eyeballs/watch time vs. showing me the things I actually want to see. Creators: you’ve been playing by platforms’ rules, but we want to help you play by your own at Patreon. Learn more about how Patreon is empowering creators by giving them dedicated place for their real fans: https://lnkd.in/dk3e4u2x

  • No alternative text description for this image
Lex Roman

Newsletter writer and growth marketer for subscription businesses

1mo

This is a compelling idea but how would Patreon offer the widespread discovery of social media? It’s hard to imagine people finding new creators in an easy, low barrier, retweeted kinda way

Tony Bullard

UX Designer | Musician | Problem Solver | Figma | Adobe Photoshop

2w

As a creator myself this is something I've longed for, but strangely find that my Patrons, while eager to support me monetarily, seem to be less interested in engaging with my posts. It's kind of this weird "silent benefactor" feeling. Even before the Free Tier I've considered using my Patreon much like I would Twitter or Instagram, but have never pulled the trigger. Maybe it's time to give that a try.

Like
Reply
Louisamay Hanrahan

Social Enterprise Founder & CEO | Growth Hacker | Patreon, Deliveroo & Techstars

1mo

Love this! All platforms have been overpowered by scrolly videos led by algorithms designed to keep you there not designed to give you a valuable experience.

Jessica Hricisak Talmage

ex TikTok | ex Verizon | ex American Express |

1w

well said!

Like
Reply
Kinsen Siu

I build fashion collections for influencers | Fashion Manufacturing | Servant-leader

3w

isn't this what Substack is doing?

Dmitriy Trubitsin

Director of Advertising Platform Development @ Megamarket. Driving seller diversity in Russian ecommerce. If you have a sense of humor and enjoy racing and fast driving, we'll definitely get along

3w

This topic is very deep! I like it!

Peter Hollens 🟣

Don't just build FOR creators, build WITH creators 🤝 | The AI Whisperer for Creators | Follow me for unfiltered advice from a creator with 9M+ followers | Advisor @ Patreon & Many more

1mo

Loooove this!!!!!!

Janna Zagari

Vice President, Social & Paid Media | Formerly Disney, Marvel, SiriusXM, Tumblr | 40 Under 40: Brand Innovators

1mo

This is SO interesting! Thank you for sharing.

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics