Oluwatomisin Okuwobi’s Post

View profile for Oluwatomisin Okuwobi, graphic

Talent Acquisition | Talent Sourcing and Development | Inclusive Recruitment | Assessment Administration

Diary of TheSmallWoman at the University of Roehampton (First entry) It feels weird to have a different subject here, but it’s a whole other experience and I have so much to share Contrary to my expectation for myself as someone who struggles with imposter syndrome and social anxiety, studying in a new country has been a dream. Maybe it is because I feel like no one here knows me or my story, or because, for some weird reason, being the only black girl in class makes me feel like I have to represent us Blacks and Nigerians right, but I have been able to self express really well I am typically very shy, an over-thinker, and I sometimes wonder if I deserve all the good things that happen to me. But it’s like I’m a whole new person. I mean, those feelings still creep in sometimes, but it has been easier to remind myself that I am no imposter because: 1. I am a Jesus baby and I am entitled to everything that comes with being one 2. I did put in the work. Aced my exams and interviews, wrote a mean personal statement (you should see it. It’s a beautiful piece if I do say so myself), and committed and still committing a lot to everything I do Now, here are a few things I’ve learnt since becoming an international student in the UK 📌 Regardless of how actively you run away from leadership roles, if you want to be extraordinary, those responsibilities will find you. (Learnt this from Akindele Afolabi during one of my calls to complain about schoolwork episodes with him 📌 Answering questions wrong is not a bad thing. In fact, it is better because the correction stays with you 📌 There’s nothing as rewarding as being your authentic self. I struggled with authenticity when I first came here. I found myself trying to sound like the UK people, and it was exhausting. I eventually asked myself why I change my accent for them to understand me when they don’t do same. My confidence in speaking to people has been 100x better since then 📌 Moving with the right people is just as important anywhere. I met JOSEPH AGYEI and Maryam Moradi and having them around has made school so much easier. Great study buddies, assignment helpers/reminders and the most amazing friends 📌All the little things matter. Since being here, I have decided that I want to live a full life. One where when I’m old, I can be happy about the life I’ve lived. In this light, I am being very intentional about doing the things I want like taking dance classes, (I used to be a really good dancer and I want that back), walks in the sun to appreciate the beauty that is nature, and learning a new musical instrument. Oh yes…I’m learning German with Duolingo. It sounds like such an ‘aggressive language’, but I think it’s sehr interessant 😂 The past 3 months have been the most challenging, yet rewarding months of my life and I am so grateful for the growth and experiences Ps: This is my 'I am glad to start a new position as a student at University of Roehampton' post #learning #experience

  • No alternative text description for this image
  • No alternative text description for this image
  • No alternative text description for this image
  • No alternative text description for this image
  • No alternative text description for this image
Shammah Ugbebor

Product Designer || Design Engineer || Ui/Ux Designer || 3D and Motion Designer || Helping Products reach their goals with designs for all generations

1y

You look soo beautiful... I really enjoyed reading your post, I am looking for how I can express myself this good. Do you have any book or articles to recommend to me? If yes, a like or comment from you will be good and l will slide into your dm 😊. I also really liked this second point.

Tina Ajiyemi

Human Resource Officer: Managing the teams that makes achieving the Lily Hospitals Vision look easy-peasy.

1y

Congratulations

Amaechina Chinenye

Medical Nutrition || Project Manager || Sustainability

1y

Congratulations

Oyinkansola Abifarin

Human Resources | Talent Acquisition | Talent Management | SHRM-CP

1y

Go girl. Super duper proud of you

Abiodun Soluade , ACIPM

Senior Manager Human Resources at Quantum Group

1y

Congratulations Tomi.

Chisom Obiwuru

HR Generalist: Talent Acquisition and Talent management Business Research/International Business Strategy Project management/Business Analysis/Sustainability Social impact through - SDG 1, 4, 5, 8, 10

1y

Brilliant perspective. One thing I have also observed is with feedback after submission. It helps to reframe one’s thought to improve and identify next steps.

Peter Sowoolu-Coates

Software Engineer @ Goldman Sachs | Software Design, Git, Engineering

1y

Congratulations 🎉. Truly inspiring

Seyi Daniels

Software Engineer at Bloomberg

1y

Welldone 🎉🎉🎉

Tomiwa A.

Site Reliability Engineer @ Renmoney | Software Engineer | DevOps Engineer | AI Engineer | Core Member at Global AI Hub

1y

Congratulations and keep leading+winning Oluwatomisin Okuwobi 🥳🔥👏

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics