Ollie Benn’s Post

View profile for Ollie Benn, graphic

IT & Telecoms Recruitment Partner

There is a person on LinkedIn Who works for a company I am keen to work with I had reached out to on quite a few occasions over the past year But she’d always ignored me Never responded to any messages or calls Then suddenly out of the blue she sends me a message “Hi Ollie, I’m now looking for my next career move, can we chat?” And I’m like…..errr, really? You think after ignoring my attempts to engage for the past year, I’m going to jump to find you a new job? A lot of people are like this Particularly towards recruiters They couldn’t give you the time of day Until suddenly THEY need you And then they’re all over you!! I completely understand that recruiters have the potential of being ‘annoying’ sales people But how the hell do people think we acquire our job vacancies? If everyone was like this lady, I wouldn’t have any jobs for her I haven’t responded yet… Maybe I’ll get back to her when I need something I’m quite petty like that 🤣😆 #recruiterlife #recruitment #telecoms

Paul R.

Commercial Portfolio and Transformation Leadership | Chief of Staff | Operations | Certified Business Coach | I help organisations grow by achieving value, clarity and alignment

2mo

Works both ways doesn't it, sadly. When I was in my last role I had a recruiter really mess me around after approaching me when I wasn't really looking (from one of the biggest companies in my sector). He ghosted and fed me misinformation. From the other angle his colleague was emailing me direct and unsolicited to fulfill my recruitment needs, sending me profiles, unsolicited. I said I wasn't hiring, but that didn't seem to matter. When I knew my role was being made redundant but it wasn't public yet, I asked them to stop but said I'd love to talk about my next step. They didn't respond and ghosted me, except to keep sending me profiles. So there I was, waiting for my redundancy to be public, looking for a new role, being ghosted at the same time being sent profiles for roles I'd told them weren't needed. I think its just people that are wrong sometimes.

Jack Goodridge

Founder of UNVEIL - Recruitment for Web3 and Blockchain | Self-proclaimed elite headhunter | Rebuilding your trust in recruiters

2mo

I struggle when recruiters think they are owed a response from everyone they message. This person is probably so stacked that they can't respond to every message they get sent. Your outreach has done its job, she must think you're an expert in the market otherwise she wouldn't have messaged you. My advice would be to push the ego to the side and build a relationship with a great contact who isn't going to be messaging all your competition in the future every time they DM her on LinkedIn.

Dominika Grund

Our vision has always been grounded by our customers’ needs. Software should work together. It should join the dots between people, data and systems. Keeping everything all in one place and connected.

2mo

How strange is that Ollie, I have a similar experience with recruiters. Ignoring calls and messages and then Boom out of the blue they could use help with a software project 😂 I guess we live in a very similar world where prospects are only interested when they suddenly have a need. I am curious though, are you gonna help her?

David Rolls

BDR @ aircall; saving Sales and CS teams from poor conversations and being bogged down with admin | 87 Recommendations

2mo

They might have got loads of messages every week from other Recruiters/Salespeople and you're just one of those who didn't get a response. I wouldn't hold it against them. Not replying if you can help seems like cutting off your nose to spite your face tbh.

Faye Welsh

Exceptional recruitment back office support & contractor payment solutions. Payroll, accounts and credit control...done well 👌

2mo

Why dont you flip it on its head?! She didn't have chance to reply but your the first person she's thought about when she needed someone. 🤷♀️ She may have wanted to work with you for the last year but didn't want to associate you with her current company because she knew she would be leaving.... I would definitely not be offened if I had been messaging someone and then they finally came to me. 🤷♀️

Claire Davies

Doing the right thing by your people

2mo

At least we now both know we only speak to each other when we want to go out for drinks 🤣 p.s. when you guys up north?! 😄

Elizabeth (Libby) Frankland

Rec2rec: Recruitment careers for recruitment people: 07809 737 458

2mo

Suggest you read Ego is the Enemy. And then book a call, get the information you need about that company as to why they don't engage, and then do your job and move her career forward. Or not. Probably won't have the chance though if she's read this post. But read the book anyway 👍

Brian Meyer

Managing Consultant - (Head of Software, Projects & Change, QA, ERP & Infrastructure) + 44 (0) 2922 260 076 Mobile: 07458 142 706

2mo

🤣🤣🤣 I often feel like this but what if this person is right for one of your roles or you can use their skillset / cv and availability to break another door down with a target client? Don't be like them, respond at least. Share opportunities with people even if you can't represent them or don't make an immediate fee...play the long game. Supporting people when there's no immediate gain can often lead to longterm gain, evidence your capability and good heart as when they land a role they could just turn in to a new client for you.

Max Learmonth

Founder & CEO - Forge Talent, Identifying Finance Talent across the North West 🚀

2mo

I actually love when this happens mate. I think you should speak to her, tell her how you can help (which is true) then at the end pf the meeting call it out, asky why her ignoring you was acceptable 😁

Steve Mckevitt

Senior TA Professional available for Contract or Perm Roles.

2mo

Ollie Benn ive had this. Worse still, I’ve had people I’ve physically worked with do this to me. What’s weird is they were never particularly nice to me, infact they were stand off’ish and full of themselves/ thought they were better than me ( maybe they didn’t rate recruitment in general 🤷🏼♂️) Then when they reach out looking for help….. I’ve gently pushed them away. A couple of times I’ve called them out and pointed out the above, to which they’ve appeared to be shocked and apologised …. But it’s killed the convo and they’ve not asked for help since👌🏻 People are just strange. 🤷🏼♂️

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics