Nico Murillo’s Post

View profile for Nico Murillo, graphic

Previously a Production Supervisor, Tesla

Tesla lay off story 4/15 Monday 4:30am: Opened my laptop, account was de activated. Thought it was just another IT problem, so didn't think anything of it. 5:00am I usually check my emails while on my autopilot commute to work (1hr 30min drive) Email read: "Unfortunately as a result, your position has been eliminated by this restructuring." 5:05am Texted my manager, but he said "everyone got it, we'll get more info later" 5:50am Tried to badge in, and the security guard took my badge and told me I was laid off 6:00am Sat in my car in disbelief. Tesla timeline: 07/22/2019 - 04/15/2024 About 5 years at Tesla. Half a decade! At one point in 2023 I was even sacrificing sleeping in my car on work days just to avoid commuting to work. Showered at the factory and slept in the parking lot. Microwaved dinner in the break room. Sacrificed a lot for the company. But this is just a small part of a chapter that is ending, and there’s a whole book waiting to be written. I’m only 29 years old and have a lot more career time in me. I went from Production Associate, to Lead Production Associate, to being a Production Supervisor. Starting from the very bottom and worked my way up. Learned a lot of adapting to the ever-changing environment, to working with less but getting more done. In the middle of my career, when I was a lead, I met the most funny and humble supervisor named Louie Afusia. Louie taught me about delegating, following up, and finishing through. He used to tell me: “listen to the people, not against them.” I even played semi pro football with him one Spring season. But he taught me a lot about leadership, and i’m glad to have met him in my career at Tesla. He was this huge Somoan USO, that had a good heart. Louie passed away in 02/2023. He’s gone, but not forgotten. How you make something last forever is you inspire the next generation and then the next. Always leave the place better than you found it. One thing Tony Stark (Ironman) said in the movie Avengers Endgame: “Part of the journey is the end”

  • No alternative text description for this image
Nico Murillo

Previously a Production Supervisor, Tesla

2mo

If you all want to watch what is next for me, subscribe to my YouTube channel where I will document what is next! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uqXWL2SoQVk Instagram: @travelwith.nico

https://www.carscoops.com/2024/04/former-tesla-employee-claims-he-slept-in-car-to-work-harder-still-got-laid-off/ #AeroAutoTeam Got the news from Carscoops.com Nico Murillo our team stands with you and along with countless others going through these down times. NO ONE should experience waking up to find out they've been let go. 2 weeks should go BOTH ways, that's what builds mutual employer/employee trust. Wishing all a very soon recovery and smooth sailing here on out! #LinkedIn #X #AeroAutoTeam #Nico Murillo #layoffs #Tesla #Engineering

It sucks being laid off, but looks like you have a great attitude towards it already :) You will land on your feet and be all the more resilient on the other side. Here's a post I made about my layoff and what I wish I had known looking back. For what it's worth... https://www.linkedin.com/posts/juliana-vail_farfetch-tudosjuntos-layoffs-activity-7163660678606614528-sMl_?utm_source=share&utm_medium=member_desktop

Manvir Singh

EX SQA @ Tesla | Professional Photographer (landscape, street & portrait photography).

2mo

Hey Nico Murillo hope you’re doing good bro! I remember reading your post the week we found about the layoffs and it definitely hit hard & took a day or so to process. My time there was very short since I started in December of 2023 but it was fast & learned a lot working as a SQA at the Fremont location. I can definitely relate to the sacrificing sleep trying to make the commute from Modesto to Fremont on the shuttle and trying to learn the process & just giving it everything for that new opportunity. It definitely hit hard when I found out I was being laid off especially since I was on medical leave and just dealing with all of that and finding out on top that you’re position is eliminated & are being laid off. Now that I’ve had a week or so to process and just bounce back from all of this.. I’m trying to keep an positive outlook and just take in everything that I learned in the short span and just to add to that and hope to have other opportunities open up as I’m getting better health wise. Hope you’re having a better week and just bouncing back from all of this as well!! Keep it up brotha. 👏🏼

Gautam Arcot

Go-To-Market by building ideas, unlocking possibilities and creating collaborative experiences. Let's connect!

2mo

all the best for your next adventure Nico Murillo, fall forward and onward, smiling all the way, as hard as it may be, it's part of it, all and this is the way of the world. Eventually, though as most of the posts indicate, start your own, it's the best. Context of fall forward, and you probably saw it before, but hey, reposting it anyway, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vpW2sGlCtaE

Laurel Fuller, MBA

Problem solver: Product Manager, Manager, Consultant, Reiki Practitioner | MBA degree & Agile PO/PM certification | Brave, energetic, loyal and kind, leader | Superpower=determination

2mo

I’m sorry to read about this terrible layoff experience!! Thank you for sharing this. I also experienced the jarring event of being laid off the last day of June of 2023, after being at the same company for 10 years, and it was very tough to process emotionally and so many things have changed since then for me. I am so glad to read about all you got to learn with Louie. He sounds like such a blessing!! That’s the best thing when change comes in my own life; it’s that I get to see how far I’ve come and realize how many people truly inspired and guided me!! I know you will go far and that your next work adventure is wonderful!!!

Penny Zhan

Marketing Lead at VIVA CITY | PBSA Chinese marketing | WeChat Mini Program

2mo

How you have wrote this with such grace and strength...wish you all the best for your next chapter of the journey

Good luck in you future endeavors! I'm sure you've heard this saying “ When one door closes, another opens!” I too was laid off but mine was via a phone call while putting groceries into my car! I was with that Company for 11 years. I hope your next door is a Solid Oak one, heavy but built to last a solid future!

Naresh Tillekeratne

Seasoned Banking and NBFI professional, specializing in risk management and operational excellence.

2mo

Nico, you have a great attitude and have received a lot of worthy life advice from many in this forum. I will add my bit too, with an extract from the poem ‘IF’ by Rudyard Kipling - “Or watch the things you gave your life to, broken, And stoop and build ’em up with worn-out tools:” All the best Nico!

Miaoer Jin

Product Designer, UI/UX Designer

2mo

Wish you the best of luck on your next chapter.

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics