New Teacher Center’s Post

View organization page for New Teacher Center, graphic

19,909 followers

We cannot only fight oppression that directly impacts us. When asked what allyship means to Lisa Schmitt, co-leader of NTC’s LGBTQ+ Allies Group, she shared: “Being an ally means listening, laughing, loving, collaborating, and supporting my LGBTQ+ friends and the community with intention. It means seeking to interrupt my own unconscious bias. It means seeking to understand; inviting and celebrating the shared experiences and unique perspectives that shape my understanding of people and the world around me. It means viewing my behaviors through the lens of how my actions affect the lives of others. It means recognizing and calling out bias and injustice, and working to change problematic policies, practices, and behaviors so my friends in the community know they can trust me to stand up for them.” #PrideMonth

  • No alternative text description for this image

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics